We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for a Weekend Away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for a Weekend Away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We decided to visit this Inn for a Birthday/Babymoon trip and are so happy that we did! We stayed in Room 119 which is one of the 3 rooms they have that have a patio. This was my favorite part of the room! It had two chairs and a cute little table and you had the perfect view of the ocean and sunset. They also provide a patio blanket which is really nice as it still gets chilly at night!

They provide breakfast every morning in the little breakfast room. This was a very nice treat especially as it provided waffles which was unexpected. We would take our breakfast to our room and sit on the patio which made it even more enjoyable, especially as the breakfast room only had about 3 tables and the rest were in the hallway.

The room was also very nice with a king bed and a fireplace. They did add a seating area inside the room, which made it a bit crowded but was still nice. The bathroom is amazing and had a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. My only complaint for the bathroom would be that the shower head is very low. I am 5'7'' and it aimed right at my chest and you could not move it up, and so my poor husband who is 6'4" really had to crouch down! Again, having the patio really made this room worthwhile as we not only had breakfast on the patio each morning, on Saturday after a long day of walking and hiking, we ordered food from JJ's Pizza and had dinner on the Patio as well! It also gave a wonderful view of the sunset over the ocean and just ended our night on a perfect note.

The hotel is located right by the beach and walking path which was very convenient and I was worried about sound issues because there was a little parking lot right out front that was used by all the surfers but I never heard traffic noise which was great! It was also wonderful to be so close to the beach and the path they had of trails.

It is also very close to town that we were able to walk there (though it is a bit of a trek to walk but only like a 5 minute car ride).

Overall, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning here in the future!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms that have a patio that overlook the beach. I know Room 119 is one of them and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diliapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    194
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
185
424
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed just one night here as we travelled south along California 1. The inn is Delightful and our room (119) with its own patio and view to the sea was stunning. The breakfast room with a wide range of continental options was presented so elegantly and if we had more time we could have loaded a tray and taken it back to our room to enjoy in the morning sunshine. Loved the location on moonstone beach - and there are a wide range of accommodations available but I highly recommend this inn

Room Tip: There are three Ground floor rooms that face the sea with patios I highly recommend these rooms ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Sand Pebble Inn on our way from Los Angeles to San Francisco and loved it. We booked over the internet and were really trying to avoid staying somewhere that was decorated in an old fashioned manner - the Sand Pebble Inn did not disappoint! Our room was spacious even with two double beds in it, and the gas fire is a lovely touch. The staff were helpful and friendly and we appreciated the cookies that they gave us when we checked in. Tea and coffee were available until late. Breakfast the next morning offered better food than we had been given at The Beverly Hilton. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasteele1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Sand Pebbles Inn is a lovely quaint but modern little hotel located right on the coast in a picturesque seaside town.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the rooms were of a good size, well equipped and very clean.
The breakfast provision was excellent for a hotel of this type and it would be difficult to complain about what they had on offer.
Although we only stayed for one night during a road trip we would have been happy to spend longer at this hotel and this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel had a great location facing the beach where you could easily go down for a nice walk. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and had a comfortable bed for a good nite sleep. They have a very simple breakfast with a small room and chairs to eat in which was fine for us since we were just spending the nite as we headed up the coast. There are some very good restaurants to eat that are right by San pebbles to eat at.
Over all I think the hotel was a very nice place to stay and a good location of you are visiting Hearst castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for the review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We always like hearing that our staff was helpful and that your experience was delightful. Our goal is always customer service and providing excellent amenities for our guests. The boardwalk across from the hotel is a lovely spot for enjoying the sunset or a walk along the ocean front. Keep an eye open for whales and dolphins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay near the Hearst Castle and wanted to be close to the ocean. We have stayed at other places in Cambria before and thought it would be fun to try a new place. This place was really great. It had just enough touch of elegance and panache to make us feel special. The staff was very helpful and very pleasant. Just across the street was the ocean and just down the road our destination. Almost walking distance was Cambria for shopping. We highly recommend this place. Next time we visit, we will get a room with a full view of the ocean...ours was a partial view.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but next time we will get a room facing the ocean directly--just for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charliefaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are so happy you took a chance and tried our hotel. We really want all of our guests to feel special and we love to hear about it! Customer service is a top priority for us and our staff does a wonderful job. Cambria is a really wonderful place for shopping, as there are no chain stores, just independent shops, galleries, and restaurants for a delightfully unique shopping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
247 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had an ocean view room (#117) on the ground floor with a full view of the ocean. It was a very nice room with a gas fireplace and a jetted tub bath, but the shower was small and weak with the plumbing coming out of the wall. Would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are expensive but with a beatiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay at Sand Pebbles Inn. We are pleased you had a great room and that you enjoyed the amenities. We are required to use water flow controls on our showers as a conservation measure, we have strict water conservation here in Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing