We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We needed to make a stopover near the Hearst Castle and found Cambria, a nice little town with restaurants, cafes, and shops. We drove along strip of small ocean-front inns and settled on the Sand Pebbles Inn because it looked like a clean and decent place. We went there for the night and were given a very friendly welcome by Patricia at the front desk, along with Tono, the manager (not sure if I am spelling his name right).

They had fresh baked cookies for us to enjoy, along with chocolates in our room. The hotel was quaint, well decorated, and clean. The room was also clean and comfy. The bathroom was big and clean. My only comment is that the shower head could have been mounted higher.

The next morning, we had breakfast (included) which was more than we expected, including freshly made waffles, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, toast, coffee, juice. Tono also had a big cookie and balloon for my daughter who was celebrating her birthday that day which was a pleasant surprise. They are very nice folks.

  • Liked — Great value, clean, and friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SammySeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    200
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
192
450
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

I used to love this place when Moonstone Properties owned it. It was kept up beautifully. On my Feb. trip I found the place deserted and in need of work. It went down hill fast. The rates for the state of disrepair were inappropriate. I wouldn't go back.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwell, Cambs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

We needed a place to stop for the night and we loved both parts of Cambria, the quaint Main Street area and the beautiful Moonstone beach. We decided to chance our luck as it was low season and enquired about room prices and the first one we tried was the Sand Pebble Inn which gave us a front, corner, ground floor sea view room for $119, which sounded reasonable. The room was lovely and comfortable and boasted a jacuzzi tub, a canopied bed and working glass fire. The highlight was the ocean view and the patio area with table and bench, just perfect for evening sitting listening to the crash of the sea in the moonlight, and breakfast views in the morning. This was indeed a step up from our Barstow motel room a couple of nights previously and it was good to be pampered. We found the hotel staff very friendly and at breakfast my husband enjoyed 'playing' with the waffle machine, a novelty item for us Brits!
I think this place would have been out of our price range if it had been summertime, but we really enjoyed our stay and would return to Cambria again, given the chance.

  • Liked — Patio with ocean view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evaluna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

The inn itself was nicely maintained. Our king room was a little tight but it was very clean and cosy. However, we were unimpressed with the hotel staff. The front desk staff were not friendly or informative. It was our first time in Cambria and we were not offered a map of the town, which we later found on our own the next afternoon as we passed the front desk. The housekeeping staff behaves as if they are beaten; they either glare at you or look terrified. Not a bad place to stay, just not great. The staff needs hospitality training so they can learn that running the front desk is more than making sure you sign the no smoking agreement and then tossing keys at you.

No cold water is offered at breakfast, which is disappointing since their tap water is a little brackish. Also, be aware that the Sea Chest restaurant (two doors down) and the Main Street Grill accept cash only.

  • Liked — The location and room.
  • Disliked — The unfriendly staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokukai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

Cozy, comfortable room- attention to detail evident. Loved fireplace and eating excellent continental breakfast on table in the room over looking the ocean.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

I spent quite a bit of time checking out the reviews of other B&B on this site and studying the photos of each B&B along the Moonstone Drive strip, so I was very pleased to find that my research had paid off. We stayed in one of the King Suites which had a nice jacuzzi tub, fireplace, king bed and amazing view of the water with a great patio overlooking the street below (not at street level, but about a floor above it, though the king suite is on the first floor). The room was clean and also came with cable television (vcr, they are apparently getting DVD players), fridge and nice amenities such as bath salts and loufa. The only drawback about the room was it was a little on the smaller side, but big enough for two people to be very comfortable in. The room we were in was also a bit darker since there was only one main window looking out onto the sea.

The staff was excellent and extremely helpful both on the phone and in person. The breakfast in the morning was above average with waffles, eggs and the more usual toast, cereal, etc.They also provide warm cookies in the afternoon with tea/coffee which is great after a nice chilly walk along the beach.

Overall I was really pleased with our stay. Would definitively come back to this place in the future and get the same room. We did go at high season so the price was steep $250, but that's what all the rooms with similar amenities were going for in the area. I think the biggest plus about this place and our room in particular was the great view of the ocean, all the other B&B required you to stay on the 2nd floor with a smaller balcony to see the ocean.

  • Liked — The Ocean View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECMedbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed at this lovely inn for one night. The people were very friendly. The king bed room was a tad small, but the layout was very convenient. There was a view of the ocean from the room. The lighting in the room was excellent for reading. The bathroom counter was spacious and the mirror excellent. Very nice quality shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soaps, nail kit, etc. were supplied. There was a fireplace in the room. Also a small table and two chairs, television, microwave, telephone, clock radio, and coffeemaker were in the room. The bed was very comfortable - with lots of pillows supplied. The expanded continental breakfast was excellent - make your own waffles, a variety of cereals, breads, yummy pastries (bakery type), hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice, etc. The counter was continually being cleaned. The inn also had snacks in the late afternoon - cider and cookies, although the cookies were gone fairly early, and not replaced. The location is great - across from moonstone beach.

  • Liked — The room, the location, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing