We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A small property, but very well-maintained with attractive rooms and just the right amount of amenities. Our ocean view room on the 2nd floor had great views of Moonstone Beach and we relaxed to the sound of the surf over our two night stay. Complimentary breakfast was a big plush, especially the waffles! Staff was very courteous and attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    201
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
193
456
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Ocean State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Upon arrival my husband, who is not easily impressed, said "Why aren't we staying here to two nights". One night was all we had as we made our way up the coast from Anaheim to Carmel. Our room, 211, had a "side" ocean view from the windows. Two comfy queen sized beds, a lovely bath, pretty shutters, a fireplace, a mini fridge and a microwave. The hotel is directly across from Moonstone Beach and offered beach chairs, towels, sand toys for loan.

Coffee was available in the reception area, an extended continental breakfast was available from 7:30-10:00 in a small breakfast room. There were also trays available for in room dining.

A wonderful stay at a lovely property!

Room Tip: 211 had a lovely sideways view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STJStateofMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice one night stay, which we would have longer. Room was clean and well furnished. Location was right across the street from the beach walkway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaginCajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This inn is located directly across the road from the ocean. It is fairly small, but the rooms are very nicely done. My wife and I had a room with a porch, which made for great views of the ocean and an opportunity to set directly outside our room. Our bed was comfortable and the fireplace helped to take the chill out of the air. And the jazuzzi in the bathroom was a welcome treat. The morning breakfast was above average, with lots of fresh fruit, made to order waffles and local pastries. For taking care of your car, there is even a bottle of windshield cleaner and paper towels available in the parking area. This is the place to stay if you want to be pampered while visiting Cambria and the Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just as stated in other reviews. Great location! Kinda crowded as we need a twin air bed for our 17 year old. Wish they had more than one suite and that the suite had a ocean view. Oh well! Rooms very well appointed. Breakfast was very good! We were here on a windy evening so didn't do as much walking as would've liked. Beautiful views! Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A +++++ Wonderful stay on Moonstone Beach. Rachel was so sweet and very helpfull. Thank you to all the staff. Room was cozy with the fireplace and great view of the beach. Great morning breakfast and fun afternoon tea and cookies.
Right across the street from a walking path and beach. Loved the Town of Cambria. Hearst Castle and the light house tour was very interesting. We wished we had stayed another couple of nights.
Will come back and stay a few more days.
Thank you for a wonderful time!
Lois and Sandy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at the Sand Pebbles Inn and had a room overlooking Moonstone Beach. The room was nice size and the beds were comfortable. The view from sitting on the couch by the window facing the beach was tremendous. The breakfast was delicious and was better than the average hotel provided fare.

We had a very nice stay and would look forward to staying again some day.

Room Tip: The top ocean view rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILnaturetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing