We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Driveby”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nitt Witt Ridge

Nitt Witt Ridge
Ranked #5 of 43 things to do in Cambria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: California State Historical Landmark No. 939 is the creation of Arthur Harold Beal. An Artistic, funky house designed, sculpted and built by one man, Art Beal. Considered one of the finest examples of Folk Art.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Driveby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

You can get a tour by appointment. We just did a drive by and it was cool to see. It is a little run down and could be kept up better, but it was a very interesting place to see

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank N_Yates14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    63
    48
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One man's trash is another man's treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We visited Hearst Castle in the morning, and then searched for this "poor-man's castle" in the afternoon. There was a sign up saying the next tour was in 10 minutes, so we waited around to take the tour. The guide-- who is actually the owner of the property -- was a super friendly, knowledgeable man who has a respect for the collector/ designer -- Art Beals. He really painted a picture of who this man was and why he created this house out of odds and ends, including multiple toilets (my kids, 6 & 8, thought this was absolutely hilarious! They liked this tour WAY more than Hearst.) My husband used the tour as an opportunity to "stage an intervention" regarding my (Pinterest-inspired) upcycling! ~ No worries, there are no toilets on OUR roof... yet. Definitely worth a visit, but be careful b/c the place is pretty run - down. Your $10 can help restore Art Beals' creation to its former glory(?).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a recycler~”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is really interesting. What a guy can do with 50 years and a lot of time is amazing! Parking is not good. Be careful crossing the street. When you leave use a side street to find your way back down. Just a hidden gem!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbluvstotravle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“10 seconds of weird”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I confess. My only motivating factor in pulling off Main Street was to photo and "check in" my kids in front of Nit Wit(Har Har har) ridge. A 3 minute twisty turny road spills out at the ridge, definitely worthy of pics and "check in"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pairandaspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was quite the unexpected in Cambria...quirky place hand-built by a local. Made into a landmark. Stair risers with abalone shells, concrete deer in the front yard...what a HOOT! Fun photo op

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank A996ontrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitt Witt Ridge also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Nitt Witt Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing