We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much to See”
Review of Nitt Witt Ridge

Nitt Witt Ridge
Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Cambria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: California State Historical Landmark No. 939 is the creation of Arthur Harold Beal. An Artistic, funky house designed, sculpted and built by one man, Art Beal. Considered one of the finest examples of Folk Art.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Much to See”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just a "junky ol' house. Not much to see. It is "open when open and closed when closed" so good luck.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Grubstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    49
    29
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“wierd”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's worth a drive since it is right in Cambria but you can't go inside, you can only view from the street. It certainly is unusual

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am glad we took the short drive to see this unusual home. I wish we would had time to make an appointment to see the inside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Travel up the lane to this quite rediculous house, good photo shot. Unfortunately it was closed when we went there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayneKWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California USA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a quick driveby ....”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very close to the main road through Cambria, so we figured it was worth a look-see because we had seen Nit Wit Ridge on Huell Howser's California Gold series. Not much to it, just a very delapidated structure and lots of weeds behind a chain link fence. I don't think we would have bothered to go inside even if it was open.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank crewelwanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitt Witt Ridge also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Nitt Witt Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing