We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset
Nicely updated kitchen, Keurig and a 10 cup coffeemaker, and assorted essentials
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
122 reviews
Sunset
Nicely updated kitchen, Keurig and a 10 cup coffeemaker, and assorted essentials
Large open living/dining area downstairs with hardwood floors
Downstairs open kitchen/living/dining area and spiral staircase
Downstairs Queen Bed
Downstairs queen bed and closet
Downstairs living area with chaise sofa
upstairs bedroom with full bed and view!
upstairs loft area with daybed
Bathroom
shower
View!
Private garden walkway to cottage
Enclosed deck area, BBQ, tables, chairs and a ocean view.
We are dog friendly!
Great off leash dog beach 20 minutes south!
Elephant seals 20 minutes north!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 122 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family of four came here on a quick getaway. We were thrilled with the lovely, spacious, beach decorated rental, which was complete with touches of home: a nicely equipped kitchen with pots/pans, dishes/utensils, and serve ware;DVD collection; small library of books; board games/puzzles. Great location in a quiet neighborhood overlooking the west end of Cambria and the ocean. Wished we could've stayed longer... We'll be back for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
It was a pleasure to share our guest cottage with you and your family, and thanks for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucina P
1 review
“The first time and more to come !!”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a splendid time at Karen's Cottage. The place was charming, with everything we need it. My family had a great time. Looking forward to meet again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thanks so much for being great guests, and for keeping our place clean, too. Looking forward to seeing you all again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGD828
California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Looking forward to another stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Karen's Cottage was perfect for 4 adults who made it thru the worst rain storm in California's recent history. Texting worked really well when our 5 hour drive took 10 hours The upstairs loft allows for enough privacy and the main room was large enough for us to gather to make plans. The pictures don't do justice to how good the view is. If the weather had behaved I would have lived on the deck. Like others have said Karen is there when you need her and then disappears. It will be the first place I stay on future trips to Cambria.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Even though the weather was not at it's best, it was very rewarding to have such great guests who appreciated our cottage~it makes running our little mom-and-pop business a real pleasure! Thanks for your wonderful review, and hope to see you all again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Many thanks to you both, and your friendly, furry pal, too, for being great guests and keeping our place clean~come back and visit anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tooth-fix...
Broomfield Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wine tasting weekend”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Karen was very helpful with dining suggestions. Spacious cottage, loved the ocean view. Moonstone Beach had perfect weather for a picnic

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to our cottage, and had a nice wine tasting weekend in Cambria!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wofford Heights, California
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Very friendly guests, including your adorable canine pals, too! So glad you had a wonderful visit enjoying our home's decor, amenities, deck and surrounding area, and we really appreciate your thoughtful and kind review. Hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan K
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed to soothe our souls!”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

In our quest for relaxation and comfort in our favorite getaway...Cambria...we hit the jackpot at Karen's Cottage. The location and property (with ocean view and stunning sunsets) was the quintessential Cambria that we love. Karen is the perfect hostess with her welcome. You have privacy but are aware that if something is needed, she is there for you. The amenities were there...just bring what you wish to eat and drink. Now that we are home, the doggies seem to be depressed as they loved getting more walks than usual and enjoying the new sights and sounds of nature and, of course, new smells. Fun for us to watch hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and bees enjoying the bottlebush trees. You know, I actually relaxed (and quite comfortably, may I add). Goal accomplished. Hope to get back for soothing again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and serenity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Such nice guests, including your cute dogs, too! Thanks for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing