We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway on Central Coast”
Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset
Nicely updated kitchen, Keurig and a 10 cup coffeemaker, and assorted essentials
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Sunset
Nicely updated kitchen, Keurig and a 10 cup coffeemaker, and assorted essentials
Large open living/dining area downstairs with hardwood floors
Downstairs open kitchen/living/dining area and spiral staircase
Downstairs Queen Bed
Downstairs queen bed and closet
Downstairs living area with chaise sofa
upstairs bedroom with full bed and view!
upstairs loft area with daybed
Bathroom
shower
View!
Private garden walkway to cottage
Enclosed deck area, BBQ, tables, chairs and a ocean view.
We are dog friendly!
Great off leash dog beach 20 minutes south!
Elephant seals 20 minutes north!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AmyP_Dubl...
Dublin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway on Central Coast”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at Karen's Cottage for three lovely days. The entire experience from booking (Karen is friendly and extremely responsive) to our stay was absolutely perfect. The cottage sits on the same property as the 'main' house but as others alluded to, it is completely private--after checking in, we experienced complete privacy and quiet. With an open floor plan, this place has upgraded amenities (new wood floors, remodeled bathroom, newer kitchen appliances, etc.) and a nice view of the ocean (although not quite walking distance to Moonstone Beach, not for us anyway).

If you're looking for an affordable and clean place with updated amenities and central to many local attractions, then don't look any further--Karen's Cottage is it! My BF and I are already talking about when we'll come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Description accurate, location, clean, affordable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review~come back and visit anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2014
Many thanks to the Romos for being nice guests, leaving our place super clean, and for your great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TB123ABC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful with a gorgeous view!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Karen's cottage with our little pug, Junie. We have rented several vacations homes from various sites in different cities around California, so we had places filed away for comparison. We adored this cottage! It had a beautiful view and was cozy without feeling cramped. We picked up dinner each night except one. The owners brought up their gas grill so we could make a tri tip dinner. Karen and Earl were so accommodating and friendly! They went out of their way to see to our needs. Even though they live on the property, we hardly saw them. They were so conscious that we were vacationing! We hope to return again to relax and visit the elephant seals! I highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thanks Tracy, Eric, and your adorable dog, too, for being wonderful guests and for your kind words about our place. We hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! So nice to have you all as guests~hope to see you again soon :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chant182
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay by the ocean.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Karen and Earl have certainly made the most of the cottage. Although really limited on kitchen counter space (and there is no place to put personal items in the bathroom), the cottage is immaculate and comfortable. They have made parking access easy in an area where parking is at a premium. Always available if you need them, they are never intrusive and we felt as if we were completely on our own. The kitchen appliances are good. The place is exactly as it is represented on Trip Advisor. We especially appreciated being able to both hear and see the ocean. Living in a desert climate as we do, it is one of the reasons we came to that area. There are many very good restaurants nearby as well. It is a busy property, as we discovered when we booked our dates. It is a credit to them that the place looks as good as it does when it has the turnover of clients it has!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet of the area, the ocean sights and sounds, the cleanliness of the cottage.
Liked least: No space for personal items in the bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2013
Thanks so much for being nice guests and for your great review! Although our cottage is 1100 sq. ft., the kitchen by design is quaint with nice, full size appliances, and the 3/4 bathroom is small, but functional :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, CA
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Hilary-You are always welcome here and thanks for another great review~till next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
Thanks so much~so nice to have you all as returning guests and looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing