We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Cambria”
Review of White Water Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Water Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay in Cambria”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have stayed at the WWI at least a dozen times over the last 20 years. Perfect location, great staff, nice continental breakfast delivered to your door in the a.m., your car windows washed every morning. It's quiet, clean, and right on one of the loveliest stretches of coastline in the world. I wish I were there right now!

Room Tip: Take advantage of their midweek specials for coupons/discounts to local restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoddessofWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    93
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
103
307
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

3.5 stars
Great location right across from the beach.
Nice little cottage-style inn where you park right outside your door.

We made a last minute reservation here when we ended up in Cambria a day early. Luckily they had a last minute cancellation on one (of the two) 'mini-suites' which are right up front with a view of the ocean.
I believe it was room #2.
Large room. Great view. Lot of windows and a fireplace and a little front patio with a small jacuzzi spa that fits 2 people. It's not very private, but it is a nice bonus.

We never met the owners but the person who helped us (Chase) was very nice and friendly.

The downside is the room is very dated. Kinda reminds me of a grandmother's house. Lots of floral. It was clean, but just showing its age.
The shower pressure was horrible and the toiletries seemed to be on the cheap side.

We were excited about the breakfast that is delivered to your door in the morning. Unfortunately, that was a let down. Ours consisted of 1 bagel, 1 piece of fruit and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Very sparse for 2 people.
About 30 minutes after receiving the 'breakfast', there was a knock at the door and they delivered the muffins that they forgot on the first round. It appears they forgot to make the muffins and then rushed to bake them but somehow burnt them to hell! The bottoms of the 2 muffins were burnt to a nice dark black color! ... inedible. Not a big deal, but we definitely were expecting something more!

The car window washing sounds like a great bonus.. and I'm sure it is if you are in a rental car. But we had our own car and the washing of the windows was more of a big mess than a bonus. They dripped dirty water all down the side of both car doors. It was actually dirtier after they 'cleaned' the windows.

We did enjoy our stay and the location is great.... we will probably go back someday after we try out some other inns that are down the street.

Room Tip: The two "mini suites" up front have nice views of the ocean, fireplace and a small patio w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is an update review. This place is still as wonderful as it was a year ago.

We came for another wine tasting trip and it just so happened that this weekend was the Wine Festival Weekend in Paso Robles. Of course, everywhere was out of rooms, but White Water Inn had a room available for an EXCELLENT rate! $149 a night! So of course we took it right on the spot, my information was already in their system so it was a breeze to get confirmation.

Check-in was of course quick and easy. I want to say Chase, was the one who checked us in. Told us movies were available to watch (and that they're trying to get their TV's updated soon) and took our drink order for breakfast the next morning (coffee, juices, and teas) and asked what time we would like it delivered (8, 8:15, or 8:30) and gave us two sets of keys and checked out our room.

I really do like the rooms, it's the tv's that need bad updating. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The windows open so you can let in some fresh ocean air. There's a refrigerator to store drinks and any perishable items.

The next morning, breakfast was right on time. For the three of us, there were four sliced bagels that were toasted and had Philadelphia Cream Cheese packets on the side, 4 muffins (2 blueberry and 2 cranberry), bananas, apples, coffee, and juices. Just enough to get you going in the morning.

While eating, the staff went and cleaned all the car windshields off. Super service!

I definitely recommend this place for anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leshaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

2nd time staying at the White Water. The 50s style motel on the outside is immaculately clean, larger room than expected, beautifully located across the road from the ocean (can hear the ocean if the window is open) and 2 miles from the west village. Great place to spend a couple of days with someone special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Traveling down hwy 1, we decided to stay overnight in Cambria. We were so lucky to be able to book 1 night at the white water inn. The charming, inviting, clean rooms were wonderful for a stay in this romantic, relaxing beach town. Breakfast basket with muffins, toast, and fruits was the perfect start to our morning. The boardwalk to the ocean is across the street with spectacular views. A must stay! Our only regret is we only had 1 night.

Room Tip: Reserve early to request a front suite for ocean views and sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIDO1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The price value we received at White Water would have been very respectable anywhere. But when you place it in one of the most quaint towns I have ever seen - only steps from the Pacific - and you have a very enjoyable experience in store. We loved our small complimentary breakfast, the room was quite nice and the location was very tough to beat. I will not hesitate to book White Water when I come back and won't even consider an alternative.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

From the moment we entered the reception area, we were hooked. Warm chocolate chip cookies invited us in. The owner, Donovan, was a mellow, laid back guy who had three rooms left. The four of us took two of them. They were spotlessly clean, well decorated and came with breakfast delivered to our door. Hot muffins, bagels, fruit, tea and coffee. Not only that, our windshield was washed the next morning before we left. This is the nicest, best value hotel on the ocean in Cambria. We will definitely go back and stay longer next time. I will pay more and get the ocean view rooms with the hot tubs. #1 and #2.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms. Check out the bathroom for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Water Inn

Property: White Water Inn
Address: 6790 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Water Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage style rooms feature westerly ocean or mountain views. Choose from Ocean Front Studio-suites, King Cottage, Traditional King or Double Queen rooms with cozy bedding, fireplaces, HDTVs with HBO, DVD and free movies, journals, Free wireless internet, refrigerators and direct dial phones. Many rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs and comfy spa robes. Awaken each morning with a bountiful breakfast of warm baked goods, fresh fruits, juice and hot beverages, delivered to your room. Studio-suites are perfect for your honeymoon, anniversary or other special occasion. Each directly faces the ocean and feature a king bed, two-sided fireplace, lovely sitting area and a private patio with outdoor hot tub overlooking the crashing Pacific. Ask about availability of pet friendly rooms. The White Water Inn is a non-smoking establishment. Handicapped room available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Water Hotel Cambria
White Water Cambria
White Water Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing