We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything we wanted”
Review of White Water Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Water Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“everything we wanted”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

After staying at the Inn several times, we finally decided to try the hot tub suites on the end. One of the great attractions on Moonstone Beach is the spectacular sunsets, and staying in the suite meant we could enjoy our own bottle of wine with a ring side seat to the sunset - worked out perfect! Great rooms, comes with breakfast (great coffee!), cordial front desk and peace and quiet. Moonstone beach is made for quiet strolls on the boardwalk and it is right across the street!

Room Tip: they do have some weekday specials starting in September
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    91
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
98
305
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I love the WWI. The staff, the decor, the location right across from a State Park beach and cliffside boardwalk, and the lovely amenities all create an environment where we can really let go and be. Granted, the room, especially one with two queen beds, is smallish, but there is room for everything. We stayed four nights and would have loved to stay more. The room is well furnished with two comfy chairs and a table by a bay window with a peek of the ocean (unless you stay in one of the two jacuzzi suites at the front of the inn). There's no desk, but who needs one. It's a vacation right in a park. The TV is old but works great, and we enjoyed borrowing and watching an old Gina Lollobridgida movie. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our first stay at the White Water Inn in Cambria. We are so glad we stayed here! The location was great - right across the street from Moonstone Beach. The room was great - cozy, comfortable, clean. The best part of our stay was the warm welcome and hospitality offered by owner Donovan Taylor. Warm chocolate chip cookies were provided at the front desk at check-in time. Donovan was patient and informative as we asked about restaurants, shops and wineries in the area. We only stayed one night but will be back for a longer stay.

A breakfast tray which included a thermos of coffee, orange juice, a toasted bagel, fresh warm muffins, and fruit was delivered to our room the morning we checked out. The continental breakfast wasn't served with the standard paper plates or plastic cups. Dishes, cups and saucers, and flatware were used. What a lovely touch! It was so nice to head home with warm, full bellies. We were also sent on our way with clean car windows. Yes, that's right, management sends their guests off with clean car windows to make the drive home more pleasant.

We can't wait to plan our next trip back to Cambria. We will definitely stay at the White Water Inn.

Room Tip: Call ahead. The Water Water Inn will answer any questions or concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santacruzin2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My fiancée and I went to Cambria for a weekend getaway and were so excited when we arrived at the hotel with it's great location. We checked in and the man at the front desk was nice and very helpful. The second we walked into our room I was shocked at how outdated the furniture, the curtains and the whole room was. The room smelled old, the bathroom was small with terrible lighting and there were two towels and one washcloth. It was as if the cleaning staff had only taken the used towels out and had forgotten to complete the set. My fiancée and I share everything, but we should not be expected to share a washcloth. I was so upset and very uncomfortable there. The only redeeming part of the room was the comfortable bed, where we didn't even end up sleeping. We cancelled our reservation and stayed in San Luis where we were much happier and much more comfortable.
On top of it being a terrible room for the price, we were told by the man at the front desk we could possibly get some sort of refund since we had decided not to stay. We agreed to that and went on our way. The following week, we did not receive a refund, but a full charge for the room we did not even use. After several phone calls to the owner and patiently enduring the 3 hang-ups from the owner to me and my fiancée, we were able to get our money back for the room that was not even worth 1/4 of its cost. We learned our lesson and will not be staying at the White Water Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alyson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was a great place. The family who runs it were the nicest people. The rooms were darling and so clean. Great fruit and muffins in the morning. Can't saw enough about this wonderful Inn, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dngweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Went on a roadtrip up the Calfornia coast with my husband and two college-age sons. On the last night of our trip we stayed at the White Water Inn. The innkeepers were so accomodating, friendly and gracious. I've been recommending The White Water Inn to everyone I've spoken to about our roadtrip. I am definitly coming back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I were desperately seeking a hotel in Cambria for a last-minute Saturday night. Everywhere was completely booked or they refused to budge on their "only 2-night-stays" rule. Fortunately for us, the White Water Inn had a cancellation and Donovan, the proprietor offered us this room.
When we arrived, Cindy (also owner) greeted us with yummy cookies, a smile, and great suggestions for a good local meal. The room was incredibly clean, comfy, and the fireplace added a super relaxing vibe to the space. The bed was SO comfortable and the pillows were amazing. There was a small fridge in the room as well as an awesome jacuzzi tub in our bathroom.
The next morning breakfast was delivered to us at our door :)) We enjoyed the delicious coffee, bagel, fruit, and muffins and then walked it off across the street on Moonstone Beach. And while we played, a kind staff hotel staff member washed our car windows. What a treat!
This was a very special find ( I almost feel reluctant to share! - lol), but I feel compelled to give credit where credit is due. You will not regret making the White Water Inn part of your special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.7 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Water Inn

Property: White Water Inn
Address: 6790 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Water Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage style rooms feature westerly ocean or mountain views. Choose from Ocean Front Studio-suites, King Cottage, Traditional King or Double Queen rooms with cozy bedding, fireplaces, HDTVs with HBO, DVD and free movies, journals, Free wireless internet, refrigerators and direct dial phones. Many rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs and comfy spa robes. Awaken each morning with a bountiful breakfast of warm baked goods, fresh fruits, juice and hot beverages, delivered to your room. Studio-suites are perfect for your honeymoon, anniversary or other special occasion. Each directly faces the ocean and feature a king bed, two-sided fireplace, lovely sitting area and a private patio with outdoor hot tub overlooking the crashing Pacific. Ask about availability of pet friendly rooms. The White Water Inn is a non-smoking establishment. Handicapped room available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your White Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Water Hotel Cambria
White Water Cambria
White Water Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing