We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion Ma Pa motel.”
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #15 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 19, 2013

For a one night stay this is a clean and friendly motel in a quiet neighborhood. Alternatives on Moonstone Cove are double plus the price of this place. Rooms are small and the wifi is terrible. No breakfast, pool or spa here. Just a clean room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 344 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

For what we paid, I expected more. It didn't have a pool/spa, microwave, fridge-the basics in my opinion. Our friends stayed at another place up the street for about 1/2 the cost...
As others have said, the bed was on the hard side ...On the plus side, it is walking distance (a few blocks) to town. Ever year from Oct.1-Oct.31, they have a\he Scarecrow festival, with decorated scarecrows throughout town.
It is also dog friendly for those with pooches(we didn't have). They also served a "continental breakfast"-(fruit,muffins,Danish & coffee). We've previously stayed at places on Moonstone Beach Drive-you pay a little more but you also have the ocean across the street.

Next time we go, we are planning to stay at the Bluebird Motel (we would have stayed here had we known about it beforehand). They are AAA approved:They let us tour the outside grounds, & the staff was warm & friendly, & had a nice fire going in the lobby & someone was playing the piano, obviously classically trained(not sure if this was a guest or not) but it had a really nice homey feel overall to the place.

Room Tip: No elevator-if you stay on the 2nd floor, will have to carry luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkperreira1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Welcomed by very nice lady....quick check in....perhaps the most basic room we have had so far for the money we paid .... Which is the same as all the other hotels on our trip....missed a fridge, microwave and TV that worked! Couldn't ask reception to help as they only there on the desk until 8pm....not really their fault as we hadn't tried it the previous night...saying that the room was very clean, and we appreciated being able to open the balcony doors for some fresh air while we slept....Cambria obviously a very upmarket town with prices to go,with it...found eating out ridiculous as compared,with the UK...especially as steak usually so reasonable here ? Ended up in lovely Italian restaurant on one of the side roads...lovely meal....all in all quite happy as the surroundings, Hearst Castle, San Simeon...have a burger in Sebastian's and moonstone beach all gorgeous....

Room Tip: Nice to have upstairs room with a balcony...wall quite thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandclane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We pulled into town and found this place! Well beyond what we expected. The room was huge! King bed, settee couch, desk, balcony with two chairs! Very impressed. Coffee available in the room. nice big bathroom. Would highly recommend this. The only warning...check in before 8 or she closes for the night. Desk is not staffed at night

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but they all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_r_likestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here one night. Nice location, lady on reception nice and friendly, rooms average and what you'd expect from a cheaper motel. Internet free but didn't work very well. rooms a bit tired and ours smelt a bit musty. Ok for a stopover.

Room Tip: Make sure you are there before 8pm as reception shuts after that and no one is thre ill next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirazWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in late June, on a weeknight. We got a ridiculous deal with a coupon, so I somewhat expected the service to be lacking. I asked to upgrade to a nicer room with a balcony overlooking the meadow and creek (a MUST, it was awesome) and was only asked to pay the difference I would normally have paid, nothing more. The gentleman on the phone (forgot his name) was very friendly, as was the young lady who greeted us at the counter when we arrived.

The room was simple, the bathroom very simple, even a bit small, but everything was clean. We weren't looking for fancy, we were looking for safe, quiet, clean, and convenient. I had read reviews of the rooms with a balcony overlooking a meadow and creek and abundant wildlife, and thought that would be nicer than looking out over the ocean, and I was pleasantly surprised. During our stay, sipping champagne on the balcony, we watched a raccoon for a few minutes in the meadow and heard DOZENS of frogs all through the night in the creek. That was worth it for me. Then in the morning, we look out and there are deer eating breakfast with the cows on the hillside across the creek.

The amenities are very basic, so if you're looking for high-end, keep looking. The room was clean, quiet, the staff was very friendly, the location is perfect (at the east end of town), and for the price, I would absolutely 100% stay here again. There is a difference between cost and value, and the value here was certainly worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a balcony, leave the sliding glass door open (close the screen) at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked two rooms, one for us and a double queen for the kids. The double queen room, number 4 was fine and good value. Our room next door, number 3 smelled horribly of damp. We asked if we could be moved and were offered room number 1. This smelled of damp masked by air freshener.

But overall the rooms are worn out, plumbing erratic...it took ages for cold water to come through, walls are thin.

I know this is meant to be budget but it is not THAT cheap. They need to up their game.

On the positive side it was clean and walking distance from the shops and restaurants of Cambria

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 to 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackem193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Address: 2618 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3410
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $98 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Creekside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing