We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Worthwhile Stay”
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed one night and found the rooms clean and the staff (especially the married owners) pleasant and helpful. A small breakfast of coffee and pastries from the local bakery was available at the check-in office. The wi-fi was spotty during our stay, but it was overcast for much of our trip.

It was a nice 5-10 minute walk from the inn to downtown Cambria, which we preferred to the inns in the middle of town (a slight getaway from our getaway).

No frills, but it was the type of rustic and friendly experience I was expecting for a secluded seaside village with access to rocky cliffs and beaches. We would definitely go back if we returned to Cambria.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TravlnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Creekside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for one night as we drove through. The room was quite run down, lighting ineffective and needed a good clean. There was mould over all the windows, bathroom floor was not clean. No air-con.
The bed was pretty uncomfortable too.
Friendly service.
The breakfast was basic but Ok, two pieces of fruit and a pastry. If you are planning on walking into town take a torch as the streets are not lit near the Inn. $120 for a double- quite expensive for the standard compared to other places we stayed along the way.
If I was staying in Cambria I would try somewhere else before returning.

Room Tip: See if there are any updated rooms with decent beds/ air con.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppy500NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If your looking for an affordable motel in quaint Cambria then the Creekside Inn is a place to stay. It is off the beaten path yet you can walk to Main St. and Burton St. to shop in the cute shops. I love the yellow painted motel with lots of pretty flowers. The rooms are average size but hey if you want to enjoy the outdoors and stay in a affordable cute motel consider this one!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We got a warm and friendly welcome by the Host (Owner). We had a clean and nice room that was not too spacious but very OK for one night. We liked the view to the backyard area with the green creek and the "fresh" nature. Good beds for a good sleep. Because the Creekside Inn is not in the center of Cambria, there is no real noise (good for a silent night). For dinner we went down to the Pacific Ocean and had delicious Fish meals at the "Fish Chest". Both the Creekside Inn and the Fish Chest are definitely places to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wernero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was an overnight stop on our Highway 1 drive after visiting Hearst Castle. The rates were reasonable, the room was clean and the gentleman who checked us in was extremely helpful, recommending a restaurant where we had one of the best meals of our trip (Robins). The inn is a short walk into the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on a trip up the coast from LA to SF. It was very easy to find and the room was clean and quaint, and it was a 5-minute walk into the town. There was a VCR in the room and movies to rent in the office. The lady who runs the place was very nice and welcoming! A great place to stay on a budget.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

When you stay in Cambria you broadly need to make a decision whether you want to stay in the town, which has the most options for dining out or on the beachfront, which is across a freeway and not that close to the town.
We chose the former and having checked out the other hotels, we chose the Creekside Inn which is relatively centrally located in town and only a short walk to restaurants and shops and good value. There was also wi-fi which was useful. The queen room we chose was clean and basic but everything we needed for a night's stopover before going on to the Big Sur. You have the option to choose a bigger room with a view of the wood and balcony for only about a $10 increase (we came in the last week of August 2012). Meals are not included but this was not a problem as there was quite a variety of places down the road.

We tried out the Italian which was only a ten minute walk away and we would recommend it (although if you have been to Italy you will realise it isn't completely authentic(!)) and the service friendly and efficient.
One thing to mention to anyone who hasn't been to Cambria before is that it is a sleepy place (albeit touristy because of Hearst Castle), so if you haven't booked and want to stay here, you will need to turn up before 5.30pm because most places shut early for the night. This includes restaurants - try to get a bite before 8pm because most restaurants take last orders around that time.

We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it as being a good, safe choice and excellent value. We agree with the other reviews that this is a little gem and we will come back if we come to Cambria again. The owner is also a lovely friendly lady who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.0 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
888 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Address: 2618 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3410
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $109 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Creekside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing