We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This little place is a delight, yes it's old fashioned, but it's cute and very clean. The people
are quite nice and the location is perfect for exploring the little town. We were there in
June, and just went back with friends. They liked it as well. The price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAT061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 367 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

We just happened on to the bluebird inn it was real nice. We found the grounds will kept the room were clean and people helpful. Loved our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kats52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We spent one night at this inn and it was not what we expected. Rooms were very very basic and really outdated. Breakfast was continental at best: coffee, tea and a cake. We paid about 100 dollars and it was definetely not worth the money, but eveything in this area is ridiculously expensive. The service overall was good though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Despite paying over a $100 for a room we were willing to overlook the old condition, the heavy layer of dust on the window curtains, sad shower, and paper thin walls that you could hear entire conversations through - but the tiny ROACHES crawling ON THE BED SHEETS that night sent me over the edge. Needless to say, I did not sleep. But then when we told the owner, she not only did not apologize, she tried to tell me they were not roaches. She did nothing, until I pressed the issue and said we should be compensated and then then handed me a 20 dollar bill. I was stunned by poor customer service. We could have stayed in a dump of a place for a lot less money and had the same experience. In fact I have traveled all over the world and never had an experience like that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stinkerNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We had booked to stop here for a night on our way down the PCH. We got held up a few times from San Francisco and ended up getting to the motel very late.
They had told us that you couldn't check in after 10pm, and I had no phone signal so wasn't able to let them know we would be a bit later than this.
We arrived at the motel at 10.30 to find the office all closed up so we were expecting to have to spend the night in the car (all the motels on the way down were displaying 'no vacancies' signs). However, on closer inspection there was room key taped to the door with our name on it! I was so relieved and so greatful for this :)
The room was basic but very clean and spacious, the bed comfortable and perfect for what we needed. In the morning, we had a stroll aroud the lovely garden before having breakfast down the road and continuing on the PCH.
Would definately recommend it if all you need is a cheap room but require a certain standard. A bargain at less than $100.
We are planning to do the big sur drive again next year and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_m0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Have been to the Bluebird several times. First time just arrived in town late at night and there was a vacancy. I don't know why I find this place so charming. We've always been there near Christmas and I just love the decor in the lobby. Everyone's super friendly and charming. I think I especially love all the cool lights.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is immaculately landscaped and is very clean. The decor is very dated, but in very good condition. It's a great value for a one night stay if you're traveling along Hwy 1 or visiting Hearst Castle. You are located right in the center of a strip of shops and restaurants - although all the shops were closed by 5 pm, the dining options were very varied. You are about 8 miles from Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seal Rookery - A MUST SEE!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdolese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing