We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like cheap motel, but is actually wonderful!!!”
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We were on a road trip and just kind of happened across this motel, which looks like your typical cheap-o roadside motel from the outside... Au contraire!!! While the cheap-o portion would be right on the money, thanks to the low price offered by this motel, there is nothing low-standard about the rooms. Ours was just lovely, with tasteful decor, a refrigerator, TV, fireplace and huge deck overlooking a giant, lush, riverside garden! After staying at the vastly overpriced Deetjens in Big Sur, this seemed like such an awesome deal, since the area behind the hotel was reminiscent and the room was actually better. The motel is also a convenient 5-minute walk to all the town's cute shops and restaurants, which is nice so you can just leave the car in the parking lot. There is no formal sit-down breakfast, but the rooms have refrigerators and coffee makers, and the very cute motel lobby with a pretty old piano offers coffee and pastries in the morning, which is good enough (give me free coffee and donuts and I'll take it infinitely more times than Deetjens' 40-dollar eggs benedict!) ...This was definitely one of the pleasant surprises in terms of hotels on our trip around California. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 367 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2007

What a fun place to stay. From the first time you enter the warm lobby to when you're kicking back in your room it's just plain relaxing. I booked last minute and only one of the suites was available but even that was very affordable for what you get. The gardens and walkways behind the motel by the creek are very pretty. My girlfriend really seemed to get excited about the frogs. Interesting. With the patio doors open we could hear the creek as we sat on the couch with the fireplace on. The staff was very friendly and pretty laid back. The whole setting was very romantic. My girlfriend loved it. We made sexy time. Very nice. I like.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SDsGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We loved staying here. We stayed in a creekside suite that had the most wonderful ambience AND it was AFFORDABLE! The two patios had the most charming view of the creek and lighted garden walkway just outside the room. I loved listening to the sounds of the creek while sitting in front of the fireplace. An added bonus was that everything we could need was within walking distance, such as coffee shops, french bakeries, unique shops, and wonderful restaurants. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MDsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Nice, somewhat old fashioned, but very clean motel located right in the middle of the best shopping and dining Cambria has to offer. We enjoyed our stay. Staff was nice, helpful and maids were very efficient. Our room was basic, not impressive, but very functional. It was nice to be able to walk to everything we wanted to see in this great little town.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cas_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Found this hotel by visting the local tourist information cente - have to say that found most of our hotels this way and found them all to be very helpful. The hotel reception area was lovely with an open fire and comfy sofas. Free coffe and cake in the morning and staff helpful and friendly. The room was good and comfortable with a good sized shower. Quiet location but with a good bars and resturants with walking distance. Great little antique shop down the street with lots of little nooks and crannies. Idela location to visit Hearst Castle from which was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jodrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

This was our second stay within a year at the Bluebird Inn Motel. It is incredibly clean, comfortable, and friendly. The owners are great people, the staff helpful, and the rooms are quiet and very nice. And in all my travels all over the world, I have rarely seen gardens more beautiful than those at The BlueBird. They have internet access in the lobby. They are conveniently located to all of Cambria (right in the middle), walking distance to shops, galleries and good restaurants, and a quick drive to Moonstone Beach and San Simeon. We are already thinking of our next stay, as soon as we can take more time off work to get away. The Bluebird is our choice when we head up the California Coast. Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank JennieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Travelling up Highway 1, we decided to stop in Cambria for the night.
We passed the Bluebird Motel and as it looked nice we decided to stay.

The room was quite small but everything was very clean and the lobby very inviting with a fire and magazines.

The included breakfast set us up for the day's drive.

A real little gem!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MitzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $90 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing