We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cute hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

Found this hotel by visting the local tourist information cente - have to say that found most of our hotels this way and found them all to be very helpful. The hotel reception area was lovely with an open fire and comfy sofas. Free coffe and cake in the morning and staff helpful and friendly. The room was good and comfortable with a good sized shower. Quiet location but with a good bars and resturants with walking distance. Great little antique shop down the street with lots of little nooks and crannies. Idela location to visit Hearst Castle from which was amazing.

  • Liked — Quietness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jodrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    150
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
158
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2006

This was our second stay within a year at the Bluebird Inn Motel. It is incredibly clean, comfortable, and friendly. The owners are great people, the staff helpful, and the rooms are quiet and very nice. And in all my travels all over the world, I have rarely seen gardens more beautiful than those at The BlueBird. They have internet access in the lobby. They are conveniently located to all of Cambria (right in the middle), walking distance to shops, galleries and good restaurants, and a quick drive to Moonstone Beach and San Simeon. We are already thinking of our next stay, as soon as we can take more time off work to get away. The Bluebird is our choice when we head up the California Coast. Thanks so much!!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the clean, comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room with a garden view!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank JennieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2006

Travelling up Highway 1, we decided to stop in Cambria for the night.
We passed the Bluebird Motel and as it looked nice we decided to stay.

The room was quite small but everything was very clean and the lobby very inviting with a fire and magazines.

The included breakfast set us up for the day's drive.

A real little gem!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MitzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

This hotel was just right. I had been recommended by so many people on trip advisor to go to the Sows Ear for a meal so I wanted a hotel within walking distance.

I had seen the Bluebird was soooo reasonable and rated #4 on this site so I thought it couldnt be too bad, we were spending so much money on accomodation that I thought one night in a budget inn close to what I assume will be a brilliant restaurant wont be so bad.

AND I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED, this motel was lovely, I had contacted reception prior to my trip but had failed to confirm my reservation (due to timing) upon arrivial I asked if they had any rooms left, the gentleman took one look at me and asked if I had contacted them, he had my email in the till still reserving my room.

Room was pretty standard but in good clean condition, the breakfast was homemade cake and coffee, just enough to get us on our way and as for the Sows Ear, superb, the hotel even called ahead and made me a reservation.

Superb value for money, would stay here again AND recommend it to friends and family.

  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Sows Ear
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NJS373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Road
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

My wife and I are not too hard to please but we one thing my wife doesn't tolerate is a dirty hotel room. When we travel we don't look for luxury and don't ask for much more than a clean, quiet room. First glance at their website makes you a little skeptical about the quality of the place. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and comfortable, the location was within walking distance of town (although you could easily justify driving), the desk staff was very polite and accommodating even helping us choose a restaurant and making the reservations for us. All in all we had no complaints. If you are looking for luxury you won't find it, but it is a bargain and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aschurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed here on our honeymoon 10 years ago and my husband didn't want any fancy B&B on our return trip in Cambria, so we booked the Bluebird again. We had Suite B for three nights. We couldn't of asked for a nicer room, large with a balcony that overlooked their beautiful manicured garden and the fireplace was inviting for those cool mornings and evenings. The owners and staff were helpful, friendly and surprised us with a complimentary bottle of champage in our room, it really was a slice of paradise. My husband even commented that he "liked the suite better than the one at the Venetian in Las Vegas." Perhaps we are just an unpretentious couple and this is afterall, a Motel, but something run by a family as opposed to a corporate conglomerate does speak volumes for us. Just a note of interest, the Friday and Saturday nights we were there, the Motel had the "No Vacancy" sign up, so that itself tells you something. Thank you (und Vielen Dank!) Bluebird for making this just a wonderful memory, we will definitely be back.

Olivia and Steve

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank omadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

Large rooms, very comfortable, good location. Lovely reception, good parking. Nice staff, good cake and coffee for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Property: Bluebird Inn
Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing