We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, comfortable, and a good value”
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Bluebird is a older style drive in motel that has been maintained very well and is extremely clean. The location in the heart of Cambria is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops in the town, It is only 8 miles from Hearst Castle which makes it a great choice to stay when visiting the Castle or a nice midway stop when driving the PCH. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, although the motel does not offer a lot of frills they do have free WiFi, flat screen TV's, nice plush towels, comfortable beds, coffee in the lobby and some great pound cake in the morning. Comparing prices to the other motels in the area the Bluebird is a very good value. We spent 2 nights at the Bluebird and look forward to staying again when in the area.

Room Tip: King Bed rooms offer a nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 362 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Located 8 miles from the Hurst Castle, in the charming town of Cambria, this hotel is not only wonderful for tourists, but would make a great place for a family reunion or a destination wedding if you wanted to be married on the beach. We liked it so much that we stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpsononthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were rather disappointed with the very ordinary rooms at a rate of $120.
Breakfast, comprised of coffee and pastry, doesn't start until 7:30am, when most people , who are traveling through are already gone. It's a place to sleep and go for too much money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinguschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Bluebird is not fancy but quaint and comfortable. The rooms have everything you need. We had a smaller inexpensive room and still had plenty of drawer space, flat screen TV, free WiFi, and 2 chairs. The bathroom was immaculate (this is one of my pet peeves when traveling). Danielle who answered the phone was lovely and very helpful. The hotel is located walking distance to all the shops so parking wasn't an issue. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My group had a short one-night stay at this hotel. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly and helpful with finding a place to eat. They have a book of local menus to look through. Plenty of parking on-site.

Hotel is older in terms of furniture and decor but seems well-maintained. We stayed in a 2-room suite, which split between four people was VERY affordable. The bathroom was older and small with just a shower and no fan, but no complaints otherwise. It had four smaller comfortable beds with minimum linens (I mean no Marriott layer cake of a bed). No coffee maker, but the lobby is close and has fresh coffee in the morning.

Overall, it was a convenient comfortable stay. Nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed!

Room Tip: The two-room family suite was up front near the road, but there is not a ton of traffic. Two beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very good nights rest. Attractive, clean room in quiet location. Convenient location near restaurants, plenty of parking. Quiet attractive grounds surrounding Victorian house. Everything you need is in the room except no coffee maker, or telephone. The lobby has coffee. tea or chocolate mix until 10 PM. Mattress was pretty comfortable and the pillows were medium quality. Appreciated that they had an extra blanket on the shelf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Designer-at-Large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and our room was wonderful. It was clean and spacious for the 4 of us. We had a fireplace and balcony in our room. We enjoyed using the fireplace and could see various birds using the feeder from our balcony. We had a restful night's sleep, really quiet. Hearst Castle is about a 15 minute drive away. No breakfast served here, only pound cake and hot drinks. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,343 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $99 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing