We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Pleasant, Well-Maintained, Old-fashioned Drive-in Motel”
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very good nights rest. Attractive, clean room in quiet location. Convenient location near restaurants, plenty of parking. Quiet attractive grounds surrounding Victorian house. Everything you need is in the room except no coffee maker, or telephone. The lobby has coffee. tea or chocolate mix until 10 PM. Mattress was pretty comfortable and the pillows were medium quality. Appreciated that they had an extra blanket on the shelf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Designer-at-Large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Bluebird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 357 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and our room was wonderful. It was clean and spacious for the 4 of us. We had a fireplace and balcony in our room. We enjoyed using the fireplace and could see various birds using the feeder from our balcony. We had a restful night's sleep, really quiet. Hearst Castle is about a 15 minute drive away. No breakfast served here, only pound cake and hot drinks. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My sister, niece and I stayed for three nights in Cambria, a small, accommodating town right off the freeway. As was mentioned, the motel is centered within walking distance from several restaurants, and a variety of shops from antiques to children's clothing. It was convenient to travel to nearby towns by car not only to Hearst Castle but the Lighthouse tour as well as Sea Lions along the coastline. I gave it a four star because the rooms were clean, well maintained and the sleeping accommodations for the three of us was perfect. It is a no frills motel but as a stopover to shower and rest after a days activities, it was perfect. The motel is run by the son of the owner and has been in the family for years. Complimentary coffee, juice and rolls are available in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Bluebird is an older motel that has been updated and well maintained. The staff was quite pleasant from the opening booking on the phone through check in and check out. Located in the town, the motel has restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atticus10S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have stayed here a few times before and it remains an excellent place to stay while in Cambria. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable. We have only stayed in the garden view rooms because the other rooms in the side buildings are already booked when we decide to make the trip. Do love the fireplace, balcony and large room.

The location is great, you can walk to several very good places to eat and the shops in the east part of town.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Yellow Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in room 29 which was at the end of our building on the second floor. Check-in was pleasant and all the people we dealt with at the Inn were very personable and helpful. Room 29 is fairly small, however the inn has rooms of varying sizes including rooms with balconies overlooking a creek (currently dry) and beautiful gardens. Although we did not see bluebirds, hummingbirds were abundant in the gardens and it was a delight to sit on one of the many benches watch them as they moved around among the flowers.

Our room was quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was a newer, good-sized enclosure. We felt the water pressure was poor, but perhaps it was a low flow head (think water conservation) rather than the pressure. On the plus side, the water temperature, once set, didn't fluctuate. The room heater may not have had a working thermostat or any thermostat at all as the temperature would continue to rise until we manually shut it down.

The Inn was within walking distance of a number of restaurants. The front desk provided a big three-ring binder of area restaurant menus to to help us decide where eat. Breakfast at the Bluebird is coffee and homemade coffee cake.

If we were to return to the area we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Wonderful hotel close to downtown, beautiful creekside location, great and inviting staff. Clean, great quality. Highly recommend! My son said "I've never seen a hotel of such high quality!". Great little town. Try the ollallieberry pie!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDCFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing