We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Bluebird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluebird Inn
Ranked #7 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very accommodating. Only 2 pet friendly rooms but we were lucky to get one of them for one night. Comfortable room, clean and relaxing atmosphere. Right on Main Street and able to walk everywhere at the east side of the town. Would most definitely stay there again, this time with reservations.

Room Tip: If you have pets, make a reservation as there are only 2 pet friendly rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Bluebird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I stayed here while traveling down the Pacific coast highway. Normally we would stay at a chain such as Holiday Inn Express or Hampton, but a "retro" place like this - a true motel - seemed appropriate. This was a real throwback, they even had the keys with the plastic diamond-shaped dongle. This was obviously a well cared for place. The rooms were clean and comfy. The bathroom was large. Didn't need air conditioning - heck I don't even know if it was available! Just opened the front window and bathroom windows (yes they had windows that open) and it was quite comfy. They offered coffee cake and coffee for breakfast in their spacious, friendly lobby. This was probably my favorite place to stay on the entire week-long trip - give it a try if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markw89311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bluebird Inn, and it was very nice. You cannot go wrong with the price. They have the best prices in town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We use to stay on Moonstone Beach every year for several years, but the prices are so outrageous. We are not in our room that much anyway, and I would rather spend the extra money on dining and shopping. It is really nice to be able to walk wherever you want to go. So many wonderful shops and eateries. If you need to be near the water, you can drive the short distance over to Moonstone and spend the day there. The employee's are great, and very accommodating too.

Room Tip: Tell the motel desk what you need, and they will try their best to meet it. They are there to make...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ed and Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We checked into the Bluebird in when driving the Pacific Coast Highway. They gave us the last room, ground floor with a little patio over looking their gardens. There was a lovely fireplace (which wasn't needed in June !) The room was so quaint and homely. This was our favourite spot from our whole journey, much nicer than any of the fancier hotels we stayed in along the way.
They even had a little rubber duck in the bathroom, which I thought was a brilliant touch. You can park your car right outside your room. Everything was within walking distance.
A little gem, we're lucky we found it

Room Tip: Ask for the best price available don't be afraid to negotiate on price
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol-AnneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great staff, very accommodating. First morning work to father son cursing a blue streak at 6am. It's such a small location you can hear EVERYTHING. Fortunately they checked out that day. After the loud guests left is was VERY peaceful so much so that we were just commenting yesterday that we wish we were there relaxing NOW.
Cambria was was such a great town. DH an DD went to the murder mystery in town and really enjoyed themselves.

Shower heads are rather low, but water pressure is excellent.

Room Tip: Floorboards creak so request a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pleasant enough place in centrally located Cambria. Rooms and 'cabins' are priced differently, of course, but we enjoy the simplicity of it. Beautiful lobby has a warm fireplace for mornings with coffee cake and coffee or tea, complimentary of course. This time around was the July 4th Holiday weekend and prices were raised considerably; then the small room doesn't seem worth it. Paper thin walls...a no-no and, ants in the bathroom, were 'roommates' we didn't need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I enjoyed every minute I spent here, and I haven't even left yet. I would extend my stay if I could. The inn is clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. I stayed in two different rooms due to Memorial Day availability and the double queen was fine (the floorboards in the room above me creaked, which conjured up memories of living in an old flat in Europe), but the creek-side room suited my mood better. I loved listening to the frogs and crickets in the evening and waking up to the birds in the morning. The inn is indeed very quiet - I heard other guests from time to time, but nothing loud or disturbing, and there are no street or airplane noises. The location is perfect too. It's in the middle between east and west Cambria, and everything in east Cambria is within walking distance. I dined at three different restaurants and had good food and service at each. I'll stay here again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: If you want the sound of frogs, crickets, birds, and the creek and a view of trees and flowers, the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.2 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Inn

Address: 1880 Main St, Cambria, CA 93428-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: $109 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bluebird Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned ~ Quiet comfortable rooms in a unique garden-creekside setting with charming country decor; this is what we are. Our unique property has a variety of rooms ranging from our original cozy rooms to our new creekside/fireplace rooms and suites. Old fashioned hospitality and charming atmosphere in the heart of Cambria. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bluebird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebird Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing