We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather not great - influenced our feelings about FogCatcher Inn”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weather not great - influenced our feelings about FogCatcher Inn”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Cambria was a bit gloomy weather-wise and it did influence our overall feelings but that's hardly this Inn's fault - and our room did have a gas (log effect) fire which was most unexpected and welcome! We arrived after a fairly disappointing day's drive down FOGGY Big Sur. The Inn was fine; just across the road from the beach but maybe we prefer more modern hotels. The road was quiet so no complaints there. Took a very pleasant walk along the boardwalk into the centre of town. Reception staff friendly and helpful but the housekeeping staff tended to be a bit surly - including not a hint of a smile for the punters in the breakfast room. Our room was fine although the double bed was small. Breakfast was included in the cost - most welcome (and not typical) - good choice and plentiful. We would recommend the hotel with some caveats but would be unlikely return ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    558
    146
    58
    22
See reviews for
615
902
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, ON
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was a last minute booking mainly because we had booked an early morning tour of Hearst Castle nearby. The road off of Hwy #1 is poorly marked and we had to back track to find Moonstone Beach Dr. I admit that we arrived on a rather cold, drab and foggy August afternoon so the strip of beachside hotels/motels looked somewhat sad and uninviting. But we were tired and happy to have a room at the Fogcatcher. Our one bedroom suite had a small living room that could have had better lighting with a sofa covered in an odd fabric, dark sort of indoor/outdoor type carpeting, a small bathroom and a comfortable seperate bedroom. There was no room for a rollaway bed which we usually ordered for one of our teens. They probably do have better and more spacious rooms as seen in posted photos.
We got the feeling that the town of Cambria had seen better days and that the hotels in the area may be suffering due to the recession.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at The Fogcatcher Inn for one night during our tour of California in August 2010.

It’s a charming lodge at a great location, on highway 1, right on the beach - you literally walk out of the lodge and you're on the boardwalk. When we were there a colony of seals was lazing on the rocks and we had a lovely walk on the beach, inspecting the rock pools and photographing the birds, seals and sealife.

The hotel is a group of half-timbered buildings grouped together around the communal amenities. We had a "two room suite" with a bedroom, lounge (with sofa bed), bathroom and small kitchen area. Perfect for a family or mixed group. The room even included a table and chairs at the window where we could look out over the beach at the beautiful sunset !! Everything was clean and comfortable, and good quality furnishings.
In terms of value for money, they seemed to have a lot of accommodation suitable for larger groups (4, 6 or 8). I think overall the price is par for the course for that area but by taking a suite it worked out well for us. We were happy with what we paid.

And the service couldn't be bettered. The staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. They were interested in our tour and were able to help with queries, restaurant recommendations, maps and information about gas stations and ATMs etc.

The hotel serves a good complimentary breakfast, better than most we had on our trip - with cereals, juice, pastries, fruit, hot drinks, waffles, simple hot buffet (eggs, bacon, oatmeal, etc).

Finally, there's no restaurant on site but there are several not too far away. We ate at The Seachest which we can recommend…. Nice seafood, good atmosphere, service was a bit slow and it was a bit expensive but it was very good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had the master bedroom which was large and airy, the decoration cosy. We had no problems with the room. The hotel is located literally just across the road from moonstone beach and a 10 minute drive to Cambria which was brilliant. It is also in walking distance to restaurants.

Worst thing - At Breakfast there was lots to choose from but could have done with more healthy choices.

Best thing- The pools were fantastic - there is a normal pool and a smaller hot tub, both of which were very well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupdragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

One night was just not enough!! The room was absolutely delightful, it pulled you in and you wanted to just relax, turn on the fireplace, and look out at the beach and chill....
It had so many nice amenities; spacious rooms, dressing area, pull-down shades along w/drapes, beautifully decorated... right by the beach. A charming little village, would be a perfect 2-3 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent 1 night at the FogCatcher with our teenage sun. Moonstone Beach is beautiful! The inn is on Moonstone Rd which is a quiet road that runs parallel to Rt 1. The beach is just across the street from a row of several hotels and FogCatcher is one of those places. We kept our window open at night to hear the surf and it was dead quiet outside. Our room was larger than most with 2 Q beds. There's a separate area outside the bathroom that has a fridge and microwave and coffeemaker. A lovely, clean room with comfy beds. The landscaping around the inn is very pretty, and there are several benches and even a couple little tables outside. Breakfast was served in a room across from our room. It was the best breakfast of our trip! The inn offered real plates and silverware and cups. Nice not to eat off of paper. The food offerings were waffles, eggs, bacon, bagels and pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. Very nice!

My son and I used the small pool and the hot tub. It was quite cool in Cambria, but the pool was really warm! It was a great way to relax at the end of the day.

Cambria has many restaurants. We ended up getting food at Soto's Deli. They had the usual deli stuff, plus plates of food from a neighboring restaurant. Yummy stuff. We loved Cambria.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn for 2 nights in August. We LOVED the location. Right across the road from Moonstone beach, which was simply picture perfect. The room was cozy, with it's fireplace which we used as it was VERY cool for August. The room was very clean. The breakfast in the morning was very nice. Thomas at the front desk was very helpful, recommending places to dine and things to see/do. We used this location for going to see Hearst Castle, which is only 10 minutes up the road. This is a FAR better area to stay in than up in San Simeon. Be on the lookout for the Hearst Ranch Zebras on the way to Hearst Castle!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverStop1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing