We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed November 11, 2006

What a great place to stay when you travel to Hearst Castle.

Directly across the street from the Pacific Ocean, is a lovely one mile wooden board walk, with good views of the Piedras Blancas Light House. Just a short distance to Hearst Castle if you are driving or they have packages with arranged tours. The Sea Lion preserve is a bit further on (aprox 14 miles). All of Cambria and it's many many great shops, art galleries and restaurants are nearby.

The full breakfast was served from 7-10 am. With something for every appetite. The staff is extra friendly and very helpful with many handouts directing you to tourist attractions and shops.

Upon departure I was handed a $50.00 gift card on my next stay at any Pacifica Hotel, now that was a welcomed surprise. I will be booking another stay direct from the Fogcatcher's site (where the lowest price is guaranteed) before my gift card runs out in 2.5 months.

  • Liked — It's proximity to the Pacific Ocean, and the town of Cambria, Hearst Castle. A very charming decor and room style not like most motels/hotels..
  • Disliked — Only that I could not afford to stay forever!
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely book your reservation from the hotel's web site as they guarantee to be the lowest rate or to meet the lowest rate if you find one lower!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank swannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    541
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
585
876
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
orange county CA
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We Loved staying at the Fog Catcher!!

Everything about it was great.. Jenn was so nice and even had a bottle of Champaine sent to our room for our anniversity! Breakfast was fit for a king and we had room 322 with a wonderful view and deck to watch the sunsets and Otters play in the ocean!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — long walks on the beach
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cuterunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We LOVED this place! Thank you for all the people who lead us here with the great reviews. This is RIGHT on the water with a beautiful boardwalk and stairs leading to the beach within 30 feet of the hotel parking lot. The sunsets were amazing! When we checked in we were offered an "upgrade" to a king size bed with a partial ocean view instead of the queen size/garden view, for a fee of $30 extra per night. We decided to go ahead with it and it was the BEST choice!!! May I recomment room 303 to anyone staying at the Fogcater! It had a GREAT ocean view! Its on the ground level which is why is wasnt concidered a full ocean view, but it was perfect! You could hear and see the ocean extremely well. As for everyone who complains about the breakfast...well maybe you guys should learn the saying "You get what you pay for" and remember that its FREE. I thought it was a great little starter in the morning! I had waffles and fruit and thought it was great! The staff was friendly and nice, our room was very comfortable. Loved the bedding and the fireplace! Can't wait to go back to Cambria again! LOVED every minute of it!!!

  • Liked — Locaiton and good comfy large room!
  • Disliked — Small parking lot/spaces
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrate to a partial beach view room! Sooo worth it!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thedenton's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

Our one night stay at the FogCatcher was one of the best during our weeklong CA trip. The rooms are large and comfortable. The fireplace in the room is a great touch, as are the vaulted ceilings. Lots of space. Linens were clean. The location right across the beach can't be beat. The fresh cookies we received at check-in were a very nice touch. Breakfast was bountiful and better than what I expected. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Staying at the FogCatcher was a pleasant experience. The room was larger than we expected. The bed & pillows are super comfy! Save money and eat their free breakfast - they have a variety of items including eggs, sausage, bagels, oatmeal, fresh oranges, yogurt, and make your own waffles.

The hotel is right across from the ocean. Our room was fairly close to the street and we did not hear any noise at all. Weather was chilly, but the down comforter kept us warm enough. The only thing we didn't like was the shower - water pressure was horrible.

Overall, great hotel and would stay here again.

  • Liked — location - right across from beach
  • Disliked — shower - very low pressure
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the free breakfast each morning
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milaneecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

We just got back from our second stay at the FogCatcher Inn in Cambria. The rooms are good sized and more of a cottage style than a hotel room. The ceiling are vaulted, the beds are comfortable and the decor is cozy. There are fireplaces in each room as well as thick down comforters on the beds. The fireplace is a little strange in that it is also the thermostat. So if your room cools off in the middle of the night, the fireplace comes on. For us, we had it on in the evening and morning but then turned it all the way down at night and kept cozy with the down comforter.

There is a breakfast room included in the stay as well. It has improved since we went in 2003. It had scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh made Belgium waffles, biscuits & gravy, a variety of ind. cereals, danishes, breads, bagels, 2 toasters, 4 different coffees, o.j, and apple juice. The 1st morning we ate in the breakfast room but the following days, I went in and made plates for my husband and myslef and brought t all back to the room. They also have paper plates and plastic utensils for the "to go" meals. Having a nice breakfast in, made the stay nicer not to mention saved some money. There are also microwaves and mini friges in each room + coffee maker.

We prefered staying in the back of the hotel at the end where it was quiet. Rooms that front to Moonstone do have a view but you also get all the car traffic and MANY walkers in the morning. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean as were the linens. You could tell they add bleach :-) There are robes in each room to wear as well. The ice machine and vending machine for sweets was also close by for late night snacks. We parked right in front of our room. There is also a heated pool.

It was perfect for us as well as affordable. It wasn't the Ritz but overall it was a very nice place to stay and we would stay there again.

By the way, the weather was PERFECT. Jeans and short sleeves the whole time. Much sunnier than when we went in May 03.

  • Liked — Coziness of the room
  • Disliked — We got charged $10 for just 24 hrs. of internet access in the room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring muchies for the room.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We booked this hotel on-line and were not sure what we were going to get as we are always a bit unsure when using the internet but it turn out to be a real little treasure. The location is fantastic right across the road from the beach and only 5 minute drive to Hearst Castle which was the reason we were staying in the area. The rooms are very large and comfortable especially as we were fitting a family of 4 into 1 room which was no problem at all. We suggested this hotel to other travellers we meet who were looking for a place to stay near Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing