We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2005

My family (husband and 2 pre-teenagers) and I spent 2 nights at this hotel on our way down the coast from San Francisco to LA. It was the nicest hotel, in the most beautiful location. Our room was clean and cozy, the beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of room for us to "spread out" all of our belongings. The breakfast was outstanding, including everything from make your own waffles to scrambled eggs and fresh fruit. And, most importantly, the staff was kind and seemed to really enjoy being there. We have stayed at much bigger "chain" hotels in our home state of NewYork, and also stayed at one in the LA area, and they cant even compare. It is almost a "treat" these days to have a clean room with a friendly staff! Last, but certainly not least, the view across the street was amazing. Being from NY and never before at the Pacific Ocean, we couldnt get enough of the boardwalk. We enjoyed walking on the beach in the morning, waiting for the fog to lift, and again in the evening watching the sun set. The only thing I regret is not being able to afford an ocean view room, although the garden view is acceptable.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,921 - 1,927 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2005

Stayed here for one night as we made our way south on Highway 1. Wasn't sure what to expect, but didn't care for the room (carpet felt nasty underfoot) or the bathroom (a plunger placed next to the toilet?!). Beds were comfortable. Paid $152 for the night, booked directly. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2005

We checked in for three nights on August 12, 2005. Our room was somewhat dark but well appointed with gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and comfortable bed. The place is beginning to show some wear and tear but our room had been redone fairly recently. The bathroom was excellent. A complimentary full breakfast is served from 7:30 to 10:00 in a rather small room. The scrambled eggs and sausage were not good and we suggested that a really high quality Continental Breakfast would have been better. The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. Located about six miles from the Hearst Castle Visitor's Center gives easy access to that fabulous place. We found the Fogcatcher to be totally acceptable and the value good at $149.00 per night. We looked at several other places and the very best would be the Blue Whale Inn but be prepared to pay $275.00 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Just returned from a two-day trip from LA to Big Sur, staying one night at the Fogcatcher Inn en route -- an absolutely perfect base for exploring the coast and/or visiting Hearst Castle. The Fogcatcher is on the beautiful coastal strip of Moonstone Beach in the midst of several other motels/inns/B&Bs, and is a gem among them. The rooms are nicer than their website photos suggest, wonderful showers, furniture, fireplace etc., with one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in. Highly recommended. (Check their website for special internet deals). Just down the road from the Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill, which is perfectly situated but with very hit or miss food.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilceana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

stayed one night as a stopover on the way from SF to LA as a base to see Hearst Castle (which is worth it if only to see how v.rich people can have v.bad taste!)
- Clean
- Friendly helpful staff
- good size rooms
- nice fires
- location is a beach, bleak stretch with lots of hotel/motels
- Fog catcher definitely looks the best
Wouldnt stay longer than a day - definitely a pass thru
No complaints

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

Hubby and I stayed at the Fogcatcher in April/May 2004 and I wrote a terrific review. Just got back from a 3-night stay. It's really gone downhill a lot in a little over a year. I notice that April 2005 reviewers quoted prices ranging from $85-$109. We paid $279 for a premium room, full ocean view. As always, Cambria is wonderful; sleeping to the sound of the surf can't be beat. But the towels were dirty, as was the bath mat. The bedding wasn't nearly as nice as it was last year, when we had green towels, sheets and duvet (instead of hospital white). The landscaping is overdone and overgrown; we picked up insects from brushing against the plants. Constant problems with flies in the room. The tissues are as soft as sandpaper. The "TP" was somewhat softer, but certainly not soft. The honor bars are now empty. Of the two coffee mugs, one was disgusting. The ice bucket tray included two drinking glasses which worked for cocktails; but there were no wine glasses. (Even though a large percentage of tourists are there to taste wine in nearby Paso Robles). On our 3rd day, we finally asked and were told people had been stealing them so they no longer keep them in the room. I guess people were stealing the soap dishes, as well, because our room didn't have a soap dish. We kept the wet bar of hand soap on top of the flimsy carboard box for three days. I guess people were also stealing the glasses from the bathrooms because there weren't any glasses in the bathroom to use for rinsing our mouths or storing wet toothbrushes. Upholstery on the desk chair was NASTY! I'm glad Al (6/8/05 reviewer) received a complimentary bottle of wine -- we got two complimentary bottles of water for our $279/night!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

Just got back from a 6 night stay at the Fogcatcher Inn. Upon arrival we noticed the beautiful gardens that surrounded our suite. (room 405) It was very charming with two large bedrooms and a loft housing two queen beds. There is no need for airconditioning (a concern). The cool breeze from the ocean made the suite very comfortable. It also has two full bathrooms (large) a full kitchen, dining room and livingroom with two couches. The fireplace was a nice added touch. The kitchen could have used extra amenities but a trip to the local supermarket solved that dilemma. The complimentary breakfast was located about 20 steps from our room. They do have fabulous waffles that you make yourself, eggs, sausage, fruits, cereals, biscuits, breads, danish and hot drinks. More than enough to start your day. Cute little tables to eat at or bring food back to your room. (our option) Take your coffee over to the beach and overlook the Pacific Ocean in all of its glory. (about a 30 sec. walk through the gardens. There is a boardwalk. I would say about 2 miles from beginning to end. Look for the seals playing on the rocks. Lovely. The pool is small, but quaint. A jacuzzi is also available. Parking is plentiful and the staff eager to serve. I would highly recommend eating at the Moonstone Bar and Grill, a very short walk along the beach. Great cajun shrimp and salads. Sit in the open cafe and watch the Sunset sipping a Margarita. Ahhhhh paradise. Directly across the street catch the free trolley into town (about a 10 minute ride) and explore the many shops. They have an East Village and a West Village. Do see both. If you have any further questions, feel free to e-mail me at sedelman99@yahoo.com. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank idolunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $163 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing