We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful little spot”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful little spot”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed two nights on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews. The Inn is as advertised, nice rooms with fireplaces, friendly staff, overall delightful cozy feeling to the place. Right across the street from the ocean and the ocean boardwalk. And very quiet, slept like logs everynight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whickey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    541
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
585
876
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

A big smile and two freshly baked cookies upon arrival; a nice complimentary breakfast with waffles and more; and $160/night for a downstairs ocean view room...it was a great place to stop and de-stress before heading home to LA from a trip to SF. We definitely plan on returning to FogCatcher but will: 1) spend more than one night; 2) bring our bikes and dogs (FogCatcher is pet-friendly); 3) take advantage of all the hiking trails; and 4) spend a few extra bucks on the upstairs ocean view room with a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mighteenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Very quaint, clean and relaxing, rooms were very nice, the fireplace was a very nice touch. Don't miss their complementary full breakfast, just what you need to start your day exploring in Cambria and the surrounding area. We drove to Carmel on RT 1, an experience not to be missed, awesome views!! My only suggestion whould be outdoor chairs to enjoy the views rather than the benches they have.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Fog Catcher Inn provides that rare combination of a charming hotel, great location, and attentive staff. The hotel is along Moonstone Beach, and several of the rooms face directly onto the water. There are lots of other hotels along the same stretch of beach, but many of them don't sit as close to the water as Fog Catcher. Room #322 might just be the best room along the whole stretch of hotels/motels, as it sits really close to the water and has a huge balcony. There is also a complimentary breakfast that is pretty good considering that it is included in the price of the room-- English muffins, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, pastries, etc. And you get warm cookies when you check in-- hard to complain! The hotel room we stayed in was in good shape and very clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllAboutAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This place was absolutely perfect for a relaxing weekend away. The room was awesome. We stayed in the double queen oceanfront (with a complimentary upgrade) and the bed was so comfortable!!!! I could have stayed in the room the whole trip and been extremely happy! Everyday included a buffet style breakfast with all the basics. I will never stay at any other hotel when I go to Cambria ever again!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newmom0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

I just wanted to comment on the FogCatcher Inn staff and manager Charlie. I had planned an overnight trip with family/friends and the morning that we were supposed to leave Los Angeles for the 4+ hour drive up to Cambria, a pretty bad storm hit the L.A. area, so I absolutely did not feel comfortable driving on the freeways. (I don't feel comfortable driving in L.A. if it's drizzling outside). I didn't have time to give the 48-hour notice but I wanted to mention that I called and spoke to Charlie and he was gracious enough to waive the $200. fee. When we do drive up to Cambria next, we will definitely be staying at the FogCatcher Inn.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brendadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We spent 2 nights in the Honeymoon suite @ the Fog Catcher Inn. It's the only room they have with a balcony that over looks the Pacific Ocean & it was so worth the extra $$$.
We left the windows & door open to sleep by the sound of the crasing waves. The road wasn't too busy to be distracting with cars. There is a gas fireplace in the room & a big-screen TV. There were 2 good restaurants within walking distance & the pool was open til 10 or 11 pm for a late-nite dip.
Staff was very nice - we were even able to check in at about 11:30 am, our room was ready & we arrived early.
I would highly recomend the hotel to anyone looking for a long weekend - anymore than two days or so & I imagine cambria may become boring.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dishconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing