We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a scenic, peaceful and relaxing place. I spent an absolutely amazing night here in Cambria steps from the beach. The property is very nice, clean and comfortable. I walked to dinner down the street and watched the sunset while enjoying a great meal. The beach by the hotel is so natural and peaceful - a great location to relax and take in the nature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate your compliments of the FogCatcher Inn and happy you were able to enjoy our beautiful coastline. We look forward to having you back as a guest.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    542
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
587
877
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a night when our previous plans fell through. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and kind to my two small kids.

We had a handicap accessible room which was clean and spacious. Bathroom was a bit outdated, but I appreciated the ground level access and proximity to the parking (directly in front of the room) which made it very easy to schlep our luggage and two kids.

We didn't have a chance to swim, but guests seemed to enjoy it despite the cool and strong winds in the afternoon!

Breakfast was nice with eggs, potatoes, waffles, and your typical continental fare.

My kids were stoked which made it easy for us all!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank meesh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and sharing your experience--we appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to have you back as a guest soon and maybe next time you can enjoy the pool.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is one of several along Moonstone Drive. It's a great location across the road from the beach. There is boardwalk to stroll along the shore. The staff is very friendly and helpful; the breakfast is nice. The decor is French country-like and is nice but a bit dated. Nicely landscaped with a row of roses outside by garden room, but the exterior could use a fresh coat of paint. My friends were in the room next door and reported problems with the toilet, but I had no plumbing issues. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us! We will look forward to welcoming you back to the FogCatcher Inn soon.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a stop-over on the way down the Californian Coast. We wished, however, that we could have stayed longer! The rooms were very cosy with a fireplace controlled by the thermostat. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is right next to the "Moonstone Beach Bar & Grill" which was a fantastic place to eat (one our favourites off our whole trip). The hotel is right over the road from the beach and boardwalk and the sound of the sea could be heard at night which was great. WiFi was also free in the rooms. The only downside of the hotel was the crampt breakfast room and cheap paper plates/ plastic cutlery (understandable due to the drought there). The breakfast however was good quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit here at the FogCatcher Inn as well as our complimentary hot breakfast. Thank you for sharing your comments with us!

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at the FogCatcher and found it to be just as pleasant as the first time. Quiet rooms that are comfortable and quaint, a delicious hot breakfast, and of course just in front of the ocean and boardwalk for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peronna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn and also happy to hear FogCatcher is your first choice when coming to the Central Coast. Thank you!

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This single storey motel is situated yards from the beach and the Pacific.

Staff were friendly and pleasant and as we were early were allowed to leave our luggage at reception so that we could explore the very charming town nearby.

The theme is sun and sea bleached wood and looks as if it has been here forever. The rooms are clean and feature two standard sized beds. Our only complaint about the room was that it needed a large central light as otherwise it was a tad gloomy. Other than that it was fine. Parking just a few feet away from the room meant that carting luggage was not too much of a chore.

It is situated on Moonstone Drive and beyond that is the beach and the Pacific. Add to that at least two restaurants within a couple of minutes walking distance and the location is just about perfect.

Breakfast is basic but wholesome and is served in a rather small room. However we would still wholeheartedly recommend this motel as a stopover on your Highway 1 journey. It's a pity that we only stayed one night as quite frankly we both fell in love with the location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn and we appreciate your positive comments. We are also happy to hear the staff was accommodating and welcoming as we strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We are a local family from San Luis Obispo. We booked two oceanfront rooms for a relaxing mid-week getaway. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The rooms were perfect, the ocean was spectacular, the pool and spa were great for our family, the breakfast was delicious and hot, and the staff was friendly and accommodating.
Highlights: watching dolphins jumping at sunset over glasses of wine, sleeping with the windows open and the fireplace roaring, the endless warm cookies and lemon water from the lobby, walking on the boardwalk put our 9-month old to sleep. Our 6-year old loved the pool and making his own fresh waffles at breakfast.
Locals: think about vacationing where we live! It was just one night but it felt like 3.
Visitors: you can't beat this place for the price and location. Consider the free gourmet breakfast and heated pool when you are pricing rooms in the area.
We will be back! Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Wow thank you for your positive feedback and great recommendation of the FogCatcher Inn--it is appreciated!
We will look forward to having you back as a guest soon.

Thank you,
Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing