We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful oceanfront setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful oceanfront setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I spent a peaceful three-day weekend at the Fogcatcher Inn. We enjoyed our oceanfront room, the boardwalk across the street, the beach, and the quaint small town of Cambria. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant and tourism recommendations. The room was spacious and clean if a little run down (scuff marks on the wallpaper and furniture). Breakfast was very nice, with hot food and a good selection in a pleasant room. We did not try the pool because it was a bit chilly, but I understand there is a hot tub.

Room Tip: Our oceanfront room was very nice, with views and soothing wave sounds to sleep by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavanRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn; we strive to exceed our guests expectations and it sounds like we did! I am also glad you were able to take advantage of the lovely views and boardwalk.

We hope to have you again as a guest at the FogCatcher!

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
805-927-1400
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    503
    132
    53
    21
See reviews for
534
814
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is one of a small chain, along with others strung out along a drip of sea shore. Most of the rooms do not have a view… garden room looked at car park. Ok it had a fireplace… what's with all the fuss about fireplaces? The bed was comfortable. The let down for the price was the breakfast. Self service in a stuffy room . Chemical orange juice , over cooked sausage and scrambled egg that had been waiting around, Very sugary cereals. My husband said the coffee was not great. But worst of all was the food was served on paper plates with plastic knives and forks… they said it was because of the local water shortage…. more like it was the cheaper option than employing extra staff. Nowhere else did this.
Unfortunately if you want to get into Hearst Castle early tourists are a captive market in the area. Cambria over rated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn and we appreciate your feedback. We consistently strive to meet or exceed our guest’s expectations and I am sorry to hear we fell short of this. It is true that the town of Cambria has requested that all local hotels practice water conservation. Therefore, we have temporarily switched from china to bio-degradable serving utensils. I would love to address some of your concerns personally, so please feel free to contact me to discuss these concerns.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
805-927-1400
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our two boys (ages 8 and 4) and overall, we enjoyed our visit. We just came back from spending 2 nights at the FogCatcher Inn. Here are the positives: the great location, the friendly and helpful staff, the fireplace which creates a nice warmth to the room, and the good breakfast provided. Now, on to the not so positive... the bed we slept on in room 203 was uncomfortable. Even my husband, who can sleep practically anywhere, had difficulty sleeping here. In addition, the blanket on top of the flat sheet had a strange odor, as if it hadn't been washed in awhile. The low water pressure from the sink also took some time to adjust to. However, I think this may be more indicative of Cambria, as the area is going through a severe drought. As for the decor, it is somewhat dated (80's style). Even my 8-year-old son made a point of addressing his dislike of the wall paper from the outset. In general though, we are more concerned about cleanliness than decor. Aside from the unpleasant scent from the blanket, the room was clean. Considering that we reserved this room with an advanced discounted rate, we are satisfied with the accommodation and services provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. I am happy to hear you and your family had a pleasant stay. I have noted the items of concern and appreciate your feedback on those items. We do hope to have you back as a guest of the FogCatcher Inn as we do anticipate a renovation in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stopped by chance in Cambria on the way between Los Angeles and San Francisco and chose the FogCatcher Inn due to the unusual name.

The rooms are wonderful; large and well decorated with gas fires, although there is some road noise from the nearby Highway 1. You can pay more for a room with a sea view away from the main road.

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable (a small example being asking to borrow a corkscrew and being given a little travel one with the Inn name on) and breakfast is a bit better than standard.

Only bed and breakfast, but at least 2 good restaurants within a couple of hundred meters.

Recommend sitting on the bench area overlooking the bay with a bottle of wine and watching the sun go down!

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach road are quieter, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of the FogCatcher Inn. We are happy to hear you had such a memorable stay here and glad you were able to enjoy our benches to take in the lovely ocean views.

Thank you,
Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We rated this hotel as average. At check in we were also disappointed not to get an upgrade as we were on honeymoon but the hotel was full. Along Highway one we had received many nice touches in hotels we stayed in but not in this hotel. Our room had a garden view and was quite dark. The furniture was old and worn especially the carpet which I found to be dusty and had stains on it. The bedclothes consisted of a sheet, a blanket and a very itchy cover . The fire however I will say gave atmosphere to the room which was needed. Breakfast was fine and the pool was nice with a good view of the sea.
From the positive reviews I had read on trip advisor I expected a hotel with a lot more character and warmth. Our experience was a hotel with average rooms most of which have no sea view and in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollo934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional experience and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

I am glad that you enjoyed the pool area as well as the fireplace in your room. Please contact me personally so I may have the opportunity to address your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
805-927-1400
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the FogCatcher Inn for a night aa part of a PCH road trip and absolutely loved it! We arrived quite early and although our room wasn't ready, the staff let us leave our car there and explore the area, which is great - a quaint little town full of art galleries, shops and restaurants.
When we returned to the FogCatcher we'd been given a seaview room, and it was stunning. The rooms are decorated in a traditional style and ours had a great electric fireplace (not that we needed to use it). They're comfortable and reminded me of old English hotels. Our's was a lower level room, which meant we looked over the boardwalk to the ocean, but the misty view early in the morning when there were few people around was beautiful.
The FogCatcher has a pool with seating and heater which looked great but we didn't use.
It's only a 20min stroll along the boardwalk to town, which was well worth it. It's also safe - we walked back from a restaurant at about 10pm - but it's dark as there's no lighting along the boardwalk. There are some great places to eat in Cambria, despite being a very small town.
There is also a fab pub a couple of doors down from the FogCatcher Inn - we didn't eat there, but the afternoon cocktails overlooking the ocean were thoroughly enjoyable.
If you want a day out, you could visit the elephant seal viewpoint, which was busy but lovely to see and then Hearst Castle on the way back. These are max 15min drive from the FogCatcher.
The FogCatcher Inn is very well located and appointed and another night would have made it a perfect stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Temer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are so pleased you took the time to review our hotel and glad to hear you had such a great experience! It is guests like you that make our jobs so easy and enjoyable. This is a lovely location and it sounds like you were able to take in all of the advantages of the area like Hearst Castle and our boardwalk.
Would love to have you back at the FogCatcher Inn in the not too distant future!
Thank you
Karen Maraschiello, General Manager
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Staff & amenities are top grade. Rooms are very, very, very quiet. The FogCatcher is a very quaint & cozy Inn reminiscent of an English country home. Breakfast is more than ample with sausage, eggs, waffles, cereals, danishes, coffee, orange juice, yogurt and fresh fruit etc. We stayed for our 10th anniversary and had a wonderful 3 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn! We take pride in our property and appreciate your positive feeback regarding the grounds as well as the breakfast. We hope to be able to part of your upcoming anniversary celebrations.

Thank you,

Karen Maraschiello
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing