We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Fog Catcher Inn has comfortable rooms, a good WiFi signal and a very considerate and friendly staff. When we checked in, the receptionist offered to make a dinner reservation for us at the restaurant of our choice, in Cambria. Our room was clean and ready at the time we checked in. The beach is right across the street, and the Sunsets are always something to see. There is one thing to keep in mind and it is through no fault of the Fog Catcher Inn. The cell phone service is terrible near Moonstone Beach. That's just something to keep in mind, if you rely on your cellphone for business purposes. Never the less, a stay at the Fog Catcher Inn comes highly recommended. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    556
    145
    58
    22
See reviews for
611
902
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited in February for an anniversary and the staff was superb, going above and beyond to make the trip special. The location of this hotel is beautiful and with open windows we could sleep to the sound of the ocean. The fireplace was a nice touch for the chilly rain too. There are some small details in the room that could use some upgrading but overall I would return in a heartbeat. Hot tub was nice. Breakfast is just ok.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are happy to hear our staff made your visit with us special. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another special trip.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cambria. It is a quaint oceanfront town. This inn is literally across the street from the Pacific Ocean. Every room has a fireplace. Our king suite was the closet to the ocean, and we could see and hear the waves crashing in our room. A hot breakfast is inluded (not a bed and breakfast and offers a lot more privacy than a b&b). I do wish the offered more light and healthy choices, but it was still better than most hotel breakfasts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverYoung0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
The sounds of the ocean are the perfect lullaby to sleep to. We are happy to hear you got to enjoy Moonstone Beach directly across the street from the FogCatcher Inn. We appreciate the time you took to leave a great review for us. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a pleasant, quaint place. A warm welcome and a few cookies were a good start. Our room was nicely furnished and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated, but was clean and had counter space. Breakfast was included and had waffles and eggs in addition to the usual items. Our room had a gas fireplace, but it is also the only heat source and it throws off a lot of light when you are sleeping. We also could not get cell service without walking across the street and down the beach a ways. Moonstone beach is a beautiful area to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, Front Office Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are excited to let you know that we are planning a full renovation later this year which will update all of our rooms and the bathrooms. We are also looking into some solutions to cell signal as well. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon here at the FogCatcher Inn.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Love this place...nice, clean rooms. Excellent location on Moonstone Beach. Short drive to wineries!
Complimentary self serve breakfast....eggs, oatmeal, muffins, sausage, cereal, fruit, self made fresh waffles, juices, coffee, teas!! Love it!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are less then 15 minutes away from the wineries in Paso Robles and less then 5 minutes away from 5 tasting rooms right here in Cambria. We also have a great wine tasting package you should check out for your next visit and leave the driving to us. We hope to see you again very soon.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Located across a quiet street to the ocean; great views from the rooms and beach walkway. Fireplace in every room is a nice touch since the water temp and the air is cool. Also nice pool, hot tub and fire pit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
The new addition of our poolside fire table is one of my favorite amenities also. Glad to hear you got to enjoy it and our hot tub. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I have lived in the southern part of San Luis Obispo County for 13 years. We got away two weeks ago for three amazing days and nights in Cambria. Fogcatcher is right on Moonstone Beach Drive, with onlya small two-lane road between the hotel and the ocean. You can fall asleep at night with the sound of the waves. We watched the sunset from one of the strategically placed benches along the property (you can even get a picnic dinner at the Cookie Crock Market in downtown Cambria and enjoy it while watching the sun go down). There is a charming boardwalk that you can take right down to the beach; shopping and relaxing in downtown Cambria; or just relax in the hotel room. We watched good movies on HBO, took naps in the comfortable bed, and had an amazing dinner in nearby Paso Robles. This is the second time we've stayed at the Fogcatcher and have been thrilled with the experience both times. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice, but you can still hear the ocean from some of the garden rooms and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaOk1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are very happy to be a part of your magical getaway. It sounds like you really took advantage of the great attractions our little village of Cambria has to offer. Thank you for taking time to provide us a great review. We look forward to your third visit with us so we can help provide you with another truly memorable experience. Thank you.

James Davison
General Manager
FogCatcher Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing