We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fogcatchers Inn, Cambria”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fogcatchers Inn, Cambria”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Loved this place, the hotel staff are fantastic and the rooms are amazing, blazing fires etc. The location is fantastic. Breakfast in very good and is served in a quaint little dining room. I would also like to thank the staff for posting my sons passport on to him after he left it in one of the rooms. Many thanks you saved him a lot of hassle by forwarding it to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    542
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
587
877
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here while on an LA to San Francisco road trip on Highway 1. Super location right on the ocean. This Inn is very professionally managed, very welcoming and beautifully organised. From the first greeting to the freshly cooked breakfast the following morning, it was just delighful. Big rooms, with fires to keep off the autumn California chill, and the sheer delight for us to sit just across on the beach and see the sun set into the Pacific.
One to keep in the reference book for another visit when we are next in California.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to San Francisco from LA, the staff were so helpfull and friendly. When we advised the women our trip to Alcatraz had been cancelled she printed us a list of other activities we could do in San Francisco. Would definitely stay again had a room with a view which was large and clean great hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David-April1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Upgraded to an ocean view. Spectacular sunset. Glowing, functional fireplace. Comfortable amenities and good advice: Sea Chest for dinner; see the Hearst IMAX movie before our Castle tour. Breakfast was well done: varied, delicious, and well laid out.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooster10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for one night in January for a drive down west coast. As the weather was foggy, did not manage to enjoy the view much. Staff was helpful in suggesting dinner places.
Rooms are cosy and clean but a tad outdated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takuyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

On our way to the Fog Catcher we received a telephone call forewarning us about the time restaurants close......this was the first time I had ever had a call like this and it was much appreciated. It is right across the street from the ocean. Great customer service, free internet, breakfast included....what more could one ask for. It was recommended by my father and it did not disappoint. This is not a modern facility but has the right amount of amenities. I highly recommend it and we will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HotelDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the hotel! The front desk staff, Erin and Katherine, were very friendly and helpful. We were given a suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was very clean although a little dated. The pool area is really nice as well. I would definitely recommend for a family!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing