We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the hotel! The front desk staff, Erin and Katherine, were very friendly and helpful. We were given a suite with a separate bedroom and living room. It was very clean although a little dated. The pool area is really nice as well. I would definitely recommend for a family!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    432
    111
    42
    20
See reviews for
436
687
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a king ocean view room which means you can look out the windows and see (and hear!) the ocean which is just across the small road (Moonstone Beach Drive). Traffic was not bad and after everyone returns home from dinner, it's minimal. No picture windows, but two side-by-side screened which we could open wide. We had a small breakfast table in front of windows so could enjoy view with our breakfast trays. Location great; pretty much in middle of string of low-storied hotels; you can just cross road to long lovely boardwalk. Only thing which would have been better would be a 2nd floor ocean-front room WITH BALCONY. All hotels along here have low 1st floors, so even if you are on the "ocean view" side, you would be looking at parked cars and traffic; definately want to be up on 2nd floor. This hotel provides hot breakfast in breakfast room (you can take your food to your room) and it was basic eggs, potatoes, sausage. Also had make-your-own waffles, cereals, yogurts, oatmeal, boiled eggs and fruit. Nice to start day without having to go out to restaurant (of which there are only a couple on this road---you'd have to go into town). Our room was a bit tired: old window coverings which we had trouble raising 1/2 way, carpet kinda funky---definately could use some sprucing up. However, room was spacious, nice gas-powered fireplace (source of heat) on thermostat, microwave, refrig. Staff very very friendly and accomodating. We had trouble with wifi in our room, but think it's a router problem which the management said they would fix (though not while we were there). Small pool, hot tub and outdoor firepit---none of which we used, but nice to know there!

Room Tip: If you're going to make the trip, get a room with view of ocean. I noticed that some hotels alon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a recent drive down the California coast. We arrived on the later side, but the woman at the front desk was super helpful in suggesting dinner options around town. Our room was comfortable, although a bit outdated. The hot breakfast the next morning was great. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our short stay at the Fog Catcher and would recommend it for a solid, budget-friendly option in Cambria.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a ten day road trip around California.
We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We had a garden view room. The room had two queen beds, a working fireplace and large TV.
The room was very dark and we had to keep the lights on, decor was a bit tired and dated but beds were very comfortable. The reception staff advised us that all the restaurants closed at 9-00 pm which was useful to know in advance.
The hotel is situated across the road from Moonstone beach and is perfectly situated for strolling on the boardwalk.
Breakfast was really good with lots of choices .There is also free parking.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay but the rooms could do with a refurb

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 359Ger1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I can not say enough good things about the staff and room we had for a recent birthday stay at Fog Catcher !! I made the reservation over the phone, booked the ocean view with two queen beds for my sister and me to celebrate her birthday. The room was spotless, in fact I believe the carpets had just been cleaned and the fireplace had a fire going when we arrived . The room was warm, cozy and inviting.To add to the celebration the hotel treated us to a bottle of sparking wine and a birthday cake !! How great was that? The staff shared great ideas for a dinner spot, and answered all of our questions with great local knowledge and they were very cordial I would give FogCatcher top marks on everything. Did I mention the fabulous breakfast which was included ?? Yum
Book it - you will love it.

Room Tip: Listen to staff, they are sincere, helpful and polite ! Ocean view really makes the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was up-sold to take an ocean view room for a substantial premium. The view of the ocean was from a basement style window, over some shrubs, across the main road and could only be viewed by sitting on a raised bar stool. At check-in, the front desk person was more interested in answering the phone than looking after us. Breakfast was great and its a nice community to spend the night.

Room Tip: Don't let the reservations person upsell you to ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MACLEODNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry to hear you didn’t have the experience you were hoping for from us. Our Partial Ocean King Suites are usually a big hit with guest since they have the separate sitting area from the bedroom. Also our reservations are taken over the phone right here at the property instead of at a reservation center so we can give guests the personal service they expect and I am truly sorry if you felt you didn’t get that from the staff at the front desk while they were assisting a guest on the phone. I would love an opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Thank you.
James Davison, General Manager
805-927-0859, jdavison@FogCatcherInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perfect place to stop over if you driving the coastal road from LA to San Fran. Rooms are very spacious and the atmosphere nicely relaxed. Try the local wine that is on sale from reception, and enjoy to the sound of the Pacific 30 yards away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambria
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
San Simeon Pines Seaside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing