We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Was up-sold to take an ocean view room for a substantial premium. The view of the ocean was from a basement style window, over some shrubs, across the main road and could only be viewed by sitting on a raised bar stool. At check-in, the front desk person was more interested in answering the phone than looking after us. Breakfast was great and its a nice community to spend the night.

Room Tip: Don't let the reservations person upsell you to ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MACLEODNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry to hear you didn’t have the experience you were hoping for from us. Our Partial Ocean King Suites are usually a big hit with guest since they have the separate sitting area from the bedroom. Also our reservations are taken over the phone right here at the property instead of at a reservation center so we can give guests the personal service they expect and I am truly sorry if you felt you didn’t get that from the staff at the front desk while they were assisting a guest on the phone. I would love an opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Thank you.
James Davison, General Manager
805-927-0859, jdavison@FogCatcherInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    571
    149
    59
    23
See reviews for
643
915
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Perfect place to stop over if you driving the coastal road from LA to San Fran. Rooms are very spacious and the atmosphere nicely relaxed. Try the local wine that is on sale from reception, and enjoy to the sound of the Pacific 30 yards away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Husband surprised me with weekend stay in Cambria for our wedding anniversary. It was our first time in the town, and both Cambria and the FogCatcher Inn turned out to be a great spot for our romantic getaway!

Pros:
*Our ocean view room was more than spacious for two people, with King bed and separate living room with sofa bed, two flat screen TVs, gas fireplace, mini fridge, microwave and champagne in room.
*Gas fireplace (have to say that again!) was very romantic and made the room nice and toasty during cold fall evenings.
*Hotel is located across the street from the ocean (Moonstone Beach) so you hear the water from the property and need only walk a few feet to get to the boardwalk and see incredible views.
*The hotel architecture and gardens are inviting and quaint.
*Hotel is located close to San Simeon (Hearst Castle) and Elephant Seal Rockery which makes for quick road trip.
*Hearty breakfast included with stay. I enjoyed the make your own Belgian waffles and the potatoes and salsa.
*Staff was pleasant. When we weren't able to arrive until after 11:00 p.m., they had left us a message sugesting we eat something before we arrived, since the town literally shuts down at 9:00 p.m. We didn't get message, but they had apple cider and cookies and fruit to hold us over until breakfast the next morning.

Cons:
*Small bathtub. Though the bathroom was built to accommodate a wheel chair
and the tub had a shower rail, the tub was not large enough for anyone over 5'6.
*No cell phone reception in the room (and spotty on the property). That is probably a good thing, especially for a romantic weekend getaway, but we of course had to check on the kids and could not do so at the property.
*Spotty TV reception. Again probably a good thing for a romantic getaway, but hubby wanted to check in on UCLA game (and I cut him a break since he did plan the surprise!) and had to call technician to get it fixed.
*View out of side windows was of sidewalk and ground. Our bottom floor room on the one hand had a lovely street level view of the beach, but then out of the side window was of dirt, pipes and ground.
*Hubby could hear running water from other units.

Overall it was a wonderful stay, and would definitely recommend property to others!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked this hotel after checking different options in Cambria and I'm very happy we stayed here. I booked a garden view king size room, but it seems we got upgraded into a sea view room. This was a great surprise, but this room is located underneath another room hence got a lot of noise from the people upstairs:( There is no sound insulation at all!

The rooms look rather tired, I heard you will do them up in 2014. The breakfast was good, nothing to rave about as the receptionist did. We were expecting a slightly better quality in pastries (which were advertised as from the best bakery in the area), and the scrambled eggs rather dry.

The location is excellent, rooms are very clean and the service at the reception was brilliant and efficient.

We would love to stay again in the property as long as the ratio value for money is still an advantage and the rooms are done up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Fogcatcher has a great location off of the coast highway in California and is within close walking distance of good restaurants and is right across the street from the Pacific. Our "garden view" room looked out on a wall and a patch of vegetation that was equal parts debris and sparse weeds and flowers. The room smelled a bit funky when we got there but aired out with the door open for a bit. Couldn't cool the room down since the only temperature control was to adjust the fireplace setting. Bed was good but decor was a bit tatty and could do with a refreshing. Location = A, Facility = C. Many others in the vicinity and we will try one of these on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilroy
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from an anniversary weekend in Cambria with a stay at the Fog Catcher Inn. The accomodations were neat and clean. The beach, perfect for walking, was 50 yds out our front door. The staff was very friendly. When Chelsea checked us in she took time to recommend several spots to enjoy different types of meals of our choosing. I look forward to returning to the Fog Catcher very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

quality accommodation fantastic location one of the best breakfasts on offer. A great location just sit on the beach and see the sun set a high light of our trip. location location fantastic restaurants, shops, craft shops, general shops etc. The beach was the most fantastic place to be you must go it added to our holiday.

Room Tip: give them a ring they were very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing