We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 th wedding anniversry”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
anaheim
1 review
“40 th wedding anniversry”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we had a great time at the fog catcher. i think the location is the best on moonstone. all of our needs were met with flying colors. the room was oversize with a great balcony a stone's throw from the water. great view and surf sounds. we ate right on moonstone, from the hotel staff recommendations, all excellent. there are a lot of hotel properties on moonstone beach. this would be my recommendation every time. thank you

Room Tip: we were in room 329..the only one with a balcony. well worth it. huge room. right on water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    542
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
587
877
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in the FogCatcher Inn in June for one night as part of our 3 week trip to California. On arrival, met with friendly and helpful staff. Room was great with an Ocean view. Breakfast was really good. Could not fault this hotel and would highly recommend it. Only downside, after a 20 minute walk along the boardwalk into Cambria to find a nice place to eat, found that everyplace was closing up at 8p.m. (Sleepy Hollow). Returned at speed and just made it to the Moonstone Grill, 5 mins walk from hotel, nice spot. Overall, would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just got back from our night at the FogCatcher Inn. Everything was great, the view, the room, the fireplace, the bottle of champagne....all perfect! We stayed in room 322, with a balcony overlooking the sea and amazing sunset. :) Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 322 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Fogcatcher Inn is a beautiful, quaint, motel directly across the street from the beach. The reception is attractive and very busy. The staff is very efficient, pleasant, and patient. The reception/lobby is tiny but comfortable. The ocean view rooms are large, luxurious, and beautiful. In the future I would spring for the extra money, it is worth it. All rooms have a fireplace. There is Wi-Fi with a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator. There is no cell phone service except for the waterfront rooms. They have one to two bars. There is cell phone service at the beach. There a no phones in the rooms.

I had a garden view room all the way in the back which was smaller and less attractive. It was very comfortable, but I felt I was shut away. I had no cell phone service.
The bathrooms are small. Amenities are The Philosophy products… shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, shoe mitt, and lotion. They also have cotton swabs and bathrobes.
The rooms are quiet. The beds are very comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast was attractive, varied and good.

It's convenient location, excellent service, and beautiful rooms overall earn it a 5.

Room Tip: Choose a water front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Everything was great at the FogCatcher Inn!! The people at the desk were very helpful, courteous and super nice. Service was GREAT. Breakfast was REALLY good!! Nothing but good to say about this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri3fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What can I say? From Karen, who helped me on the phone, to Travis, who upgraded my husband and I to a full ocean view for our anniversary, the entire stay was such a pleasure. We were greeted with warm cookies baked for us, and a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. The bath products were some of the best I've ever seen in a hotel (Philosophy products).The breakfasts were good, and being able to sleep with the windows open and the ocean in the background was great. It was close to everything we needed to go to, and we were incredibly pleased with the service provided. We miss it already!

Room Tip: Room 622! Best one there for a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplyemmanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay in Cambria. Hotel was great...friendly staff...outstanding breakfast...nice small outdoor pool and hot tub area.
Big room w/ fireplace looking through small windows at the boardwalk and beach across street.
Excellent boardwalk on the ocean right in front of hotel and another more remote boardwalk just on the other side of town.
Hearst castle visit nearby was the highlight, but great food and boardwalk and beach walking in Cambria.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_FogCatcherInn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so happy to hear your stay with us was wonderful. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you. James Davison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing