We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Hotel, Nice Location, Good Sevice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel, Nice Location, Good Sevice”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived pretty late and had to leave in the morning but even in limited time I'd give this place 4 stars. The staff was courteous and gave us fresh baked cookies at check-in. The room was large (we had a two room suite). The hotel is literally across the street from the ocean, so its nice to open your windows and be able to hear the surf. The room had a fireplace, and was clean. The bathroom was a bit outdated. They have a great pool area and fire pit and the grounds are clean and well maintained. Maybe our favoraite thing was the breakfast. They had a really incredible spread for a "free" perk. Waffles, fresh pastries, more than one hot food station. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beng55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    497
    131
    53
    21
See reviews for
527
808
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at the FogCatcher Inn! The property had a warm feeling, the staff was responsive to our requests, the room was comfortable and had a view of the sea, the breakfast was good. We decided to stay an extra day after checking in because it was so "perfect" for us. Thanks FogCatcher Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The reception staff were very nice. The breakfast was good. The room was charming. The location was excellent--right across the street from the boardwalk. It was recommended to us from a friend and I was glad I took their advice!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the pool. I think there are very few rooms that actually have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family and I loved staying at the Fog Catcher Inn. We were there for two days and loved every minute we were there. We had a nice big room, with a big bed, refrigerator/coffee station, robes in the closet, binoculars and a fireplace. We had a nice big balcony, (they only have one) that overlooked across the street to the beach. It was excellent during the time the sun set because you can see if from the balcony and made it a nice experience. The pillows were so soft and the bed was not too soft but not too firm, it was perfect. I slept like a baby. I haven't had a goodnights rest until I got there. I enjoyed the cooler evenings and left the window opened to listen to the waves crashing as I had the fireplace going for warmth, it was great.

They had Continental breakfast, but it was no ordinary breakfast, you did get a variety of pastries, but there was a waffle making station, fresh fruit, coffee, juice (two kinds) Oatmeal, Eggs, cooked two ways, and hard boiled eggs, cereal for kids/adults, potatoes. sausage etc. It was awesome.

Traveling to downtown Cambria was awesome. I loved the Antique shops and just the feel of a small town. It was perfect. I'm looking forward to a longer stay next year. I enjoyed it as much as my family did. Stay at the Fog Catcher Inn, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritamarie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This property is located next to a whole line of hotels. At the time I was doing my reservation I didnt realize this. Most of the others ones were expensive.

check-in was really good. The receptionist was quite nice and she gave us a free upgrade to a partial sea view room from a garden view room. She then suggested a bunch of restaurants and also made an reservation in a very nice restaurants called Robin for the evening. Her recommendation was great.

Our room was good. It is not luxurious. The refrigerator was old. The microwave was old as well. It made such a loud noise when we used it.
The highlight was their breaskfast buffet. It was continental breakfast. They had quite a large spread. We loved the breakfast at this place.

We were very happy with the place. Some of the room amenities need an upgrade. But you can live with it on a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lethaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn and can't say enough about it. Perfect location, excellent service, delicious breakfast and cookies in the afternoon, beautiful views, nice pool and spa, directly across the street from the ocean, peaceful and comfy rooms. Look no more, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBaldemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

we went to the fog catcher because my friend demanded we stop there. glad we did . the people were great. the veiw was marvelous. the accommadations were very nice. breakfast was not a super 8 freebie. we loved it there and would definitely go back when in cambria. i only wish they had had big firm pillows but that would be nit-picking.

Room Tip: make reservations directly because these people go out of their way to make you happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwilliams814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing