We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed the experience very much. We received a very friendly reception. We loved the fireplace and our large room that overlooked the ocean. Next time we will make Cambria our destination rather than simply a stop along the way in our travels. We enjoyed breakfast before departure, and came away thinking we should return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level overlooking the ocean are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    558
    146
    58
    22
See reviews for
615
902
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were recommended to the Fogcatcher Inn by a friend of a friend who we did not know. We researched the property and the prices and location and decided to take a gamble. It paid off in spades. Not only was the welcome a pleasure, the idea that the only heat in the room was the fireplace (which made me nervous) and to turn up the thermostat to the full height and leave it on until the room got toasty and then to regulate it as we wished, was surprisingly true and also completely heated the room.
The included breakfast was more than expected and filled the eyes and belly with a delightful array of choice. There was even fresh fruit and yogurt. A selection of teas and coffees also helped to make us feel at home. The bed and linens were delightfully fresh and a pleasure to use. All the staff and amenities were top rate. The suggestion for dinner turned out to be delicious and the main welcoming office had hot drinks as well as cold all day long and until 2300.
We wished we could have stayed longer. All in all, a place to go back to and this time to use it as a base for a three or more day stay.
Thank you Fogcatcher Inn for making our stay in your part of California a charming layover.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are lovely but it really doesn't matter much unless you plan to spend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAPsfromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night as part of our honeymoon. This is quite a unique hotel and location. On arrival reception were so welcoming & friendly. Our room was huge and had a touch of old charm, there was a gas fire lighting which heats the rooms and is a nice addition on a wet night. There is a complimentary breakfast which we didn't have but I'd imagine it's quite good. The town of Cambria is a short drive from Moonstone beach drive & is a beautiful small town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the FogCather Inn. Our room was very large, clean, and bright with a gas fireplace that took our chill away. We were provided with a great list of local fare that did not disappoint. Breakfast was done very well with china and real silverware! We would recommend the Inn to anyone wanting a comfortable place to stay while in San Simeon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very family friendly. Very clean. Staff was very friendly and very accomodating. I highly recommend this place to stay. When I made the reservation they gave me the most affordable rate available. If you are just passing through or staying for a few days stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Weatherwax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I went to celebrate and found this Inn very charming. Everyone on the staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome. They made our stay very memorable and even surprised us with some local wine to celebrate! We would not hesitate to come back and even bring family next time.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms that was further towards the back south side and I just wonder if the loud n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted a good spot on the central coast for a couple of nights as we'd visit the Hearst Castle. We read this review board as well as the Expedia's and selected FogCatcher Inn as the best price-to-value deal. And we were not disappointed! The Moonstone Beach drive in front of the hotel is quiet and classy. The hotel's big sign and its curb appeal makes it easy to spot among a line of similar hotels. The room is very nicely done, just the right size, and cozy with its fireplace. We like the little garden path and easy lounge chairs adjacent to the breakfast room, a perfect place to relax and indulge in the soothing view of the Pacific. The beach walk on the cute little boardwalk is invigorating. The beach is wide and tranquil. We love the town of Cambria as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odysseydelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing