We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a Great Value”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Great Value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were traveling back home from Southern California and took the coast home. We love cambria and have stayed here a quite a few times. We drove into the Fog Cathcher without a reservation. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and let us take a look at a couple different types of rooms they had available for the night. We ended up with a Garden View room for $103/night.

If you have stayed on Moonstone beach in Cambria you will know that this is a great value for any hotel on the beach. This Is one of the nicer rooms we have stayed in th fireplace and vaulted ceilings were a nice touch. They try push the breakfast and we wanted to try it but decided we just wanted to get home and jammed out. There are nice benches located in the front of the hotel were you can enjoy the view even if you do not have an ocean front room.

The room was on the newer side, nice and cleans, also the bed was very comfy. I will say next time we plan a trip to moonstone I will defiantly check out the Fog Catcher first!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ledieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    540
    138
    53
    22
See reviews for
585
874
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The FogCatcher Inn is well run, clean, and well appointed - nice heated pool sheltered from the wind and a hot hot tub. The rooms have everything you need, and are spacious. Travis at the front desk is helpful and has a lot of information at his fingertips. The location is good for visiting Hearst Castle and exploring the town of Cambria which has great shopping and eating options. The included breakfast is nothing special, but included is the key word, and it's handy and has something for everyone. The fireplaces are a plus especially when it's cold and foggy as it was when we were there. The sound of the waves breaking on the beach across the street is great for sleeping. Don't miss the elephant seals on the beach a few miles up the coast!!!

Room Tip: If you're only stopping this way once, pop for ocean front - the beach is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akp1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in a few places in Cambria over the years and this one is one of our favorites. I've stayed here both with kids and for a romantic getaway with my husband. Moonstone drive makes for wonderful evening or morning walks to enjoy the sunrise, sunsets, surfers, and seals that sun themselves on the rocks. The room was clean and also smelled clean. the various personal touches that the hotel offers really go a long way. We stayed in an ocean front room which was fabulous. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean can't be beat. The breakfasts offer a lot. The eating area is a bit small but it's really just to drop in for a small bite. There is a small patio off the entry. We will do it again very soon.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are fabulous but the one we had has no balcony. There is a larger room for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tishtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There are plenty of motels on this strip at San Simeon, 100 yards from the beach, so it was good luck that we picked what regulars assured us is the best. And it is easy to see why they think so.
The staff make you feel so welcome and had the tardy wi fi working again within minutes.
The rooms are comfortable, quiet and warm.
The breakfast is excellent, great choice, including a couple of effective do it yourself waffle making machines which had us all fascinated.
A great overnight stop to get on the first tour of the day at nearby Hearst Castle, or following the evening tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I hadn't been back to Cambria in 35 years ,so I checked Tripadvisor for recos on where to stay.
The FogCatcher came up as one of the best places to stay on Moonstone Beach, so I booked a 2 night stay in early March 2013. Great "out of season" deal at $100 per night. The Inn's architecture and landscaping blends in well with the surroundings , and the trees and shrubs lend a slighty Japanese feeling to the property.
Very nice king bed room (no ocean view) with all the amenities you would expect , and quiet , despite the Inn being almost full.
What a treat to step out of the room door and hear the waves crashing on the beach....and in 30 seconds you are standing on the beach......the road between the Inn and the beach was fairly quiet at this time of year , but I can imagine that it would be crowded and busy in peak season...?
Very nice and knowledgeable check-in staff , and coffee and cookies on arrival....more coookies available later if you want them!
Breakfast was included in my room deal , and this was the only downside to the stay.....there was NOTHING actually wrong with the breakfast....it was just so....'ordinary'..... the two rubbery scrambles gathering condensation in the stainless warmers , and link sausages stewing gently in their own grease.....oatmeal and other typical cereals there , and decent coffee from the urns.The breakfast room is also small and cramped for the number of rooms and guests, especially if the Inn is full. Why do so many good Inns let themselves down with 'blah' breakfasts?.... that leave you feeling as though you should find a local diner offering a wider and tastier selection of things?....I know its all down to $ ....but just think of the rave reviews if a 'proper' breakfast is offered......OK...rant over!
With sunsets to die for , salt spray in the air , breezes from the ocean , and miles of endless trials to walk , head for Cambria and stay in the FogCatcher Inn.....dont forget to visit nearby Peidras Blancas lighthouse elephant seal colony , and Harmony village pottery and winery (dont blink or you'll miss it - Harmony population 18).......highway 46 to Paso Robles is also a great drive over the mountain with spectacular views.

Room Tip: Check room location when you call for a reservation - Hwy 101 runs at the back of the hotel , so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at literally hundreds of hotels and guest houses all over the world over the past 20 years and can honestly say the FogCatcher Inn is number ONE in terms of the combination of quality, charm, location and value for money. The delicious full breakfast which even included fresh fruit and waffles, was an unexpected bonus. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer! We will certainly be recommending this beautiful establishment to anyone visiting California.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having driven down the Pacific Coast Highway, and found that we had missed the last tour of Hurst’s castle, we needed somewhere close and nice to stay, and this was it. The castle is only 10 – 20 minutes’ drive north and we went back the next morning.

Located on the waterfront on a quiet road, it’s nice and quiet. It is however, a little way from the main town, but it’s only a few minutes’ drive.

The rooms are largish, and ours was heated by gas fire. It looked and felt great, until it kept waking us up as it turned on and off during the night.

Our room was located away from our car, so there was some lugging of luggage. However, that can be an advantage as it can be quieter.

The nice people at reception will give you all the recommendations of the local restaurants. Accept their recommendations – you won’t be disappointed.

Breakfast is included, and there is plenty of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing