We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FogCatcher Inn
Nearby Hotels
Castle Inn(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Palms Motel(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$114
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Otter Inn(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$207
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Inn & Suites(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Dolphin Inn(Cambria)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Colibri Hotel and Spa(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$161
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Pines Lodge(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$205
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)(Great Value!)
$149
$137
Oceanpoint Ranch
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,286)
Filter reviews
2,286 results
Traveler rating
1,341
680
174
64
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,341
680
174
64
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfog catcheracross the streetmoonstone beachhearst castlewafflesgarden viewbreakfast roomgas fireplacecookiespotatoeswaffle makerheated poolfamily suiteroad tripmoonstone bar and grillbig surhot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,602 - 1,607 of 2,286 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in a few places in Cambria over the years and this one is one of our favorites. I've stayed here both with kids and for a romantic getaway with my husband. Moonstone drive makes for wonderful evening or morning walks to enjoy the sunrise, sunsets, surfers, and seals that sun themselves on the rocks. The room was clean and also smelled clean. the various personal touches that the hotel offers really go a long way. We stayed in an ocean front room which was fabulous. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean can't be beat. The breakfasts offer a lot. The eating area is a bit small but it's really just to drop in for a small bite. There is a small patio off the entry. We will do it again very soon.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are fabulous but the one we had has no balcony. There is a larger room for a lot more $ that does come with a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tishtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There are plenty of motels on this strip at San Simeon, 100 yards from the beach, so it was good luck that we picked what regulars assured us is the best. And it is easy to see why they think so.
The staff make you feel so welcome and had the tardy wi fi working again within minutes.
The rooms are comfortable, quiet and warm.
The breakfast is excellent, great choice, including a couple of effective do it yourself waffle making machines which had us all fascinated.
A great overnight stop to get on the first tour of the day at nearby Hearst Castle, or following the evening tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I hadn't been back to Cambria in 35 years ,so I checked Tripadvisor for recos on where to stay.
The FogCatcher came up as one of the best places to stay on Moonstone Beach, so I booked a 2 night stay in early March 2013. Great "out of season" deal at $100 per night. The Inn's architecture and landscaping blends in well with the surroundings , and the trees and shrubs lend a slighty Japanese feeling to the property.
Very nice king bed room (no ocean view) with all the amenities you would expect , and quiet , despite the Inn being almost full.
What a treat to step out of the room door and hear the waves crashing on the beach....and in 30 seconds you are standing on the beach......the road between the Inn and the beach was fairly quiet at this time of year , but I can imagine that it would be crowded and busy in peak season...?
Very nice and knowledgeable check-in staff , and coffee and cookies on arrival....more coookies available later if you want them!
Breakfast was included in my room deal , and this was the only downside to the stay.....there was NOTHING actually wrong with the breakfast....it was just so....'ordinary'..... the two rubbery scrambles gathering condensation in the stainless warmers , and link sausages stewing gently in their own grease.....oatmeal and other typical cereals there , and decent coffee from the urns.The breakfast room is also small and cramped for the number of rooms and guests, especially if the Inn is full. Why do so many good Inns let themselves down with 'blah' breakfasts?.... that leave you feeling as though you should find a local diner offering a wider and tastier selection of things?....I know its all down to $ ....but just think of the rave reviews if a 'proper' breakfast is offered......OK...rant over!
With sunsets to die for , salt spray in the air , breezes from the ocean , and miles of endless trials to walk , head for Cambria and stay in the FogCatcher Inn.....dont forget to visit nearby Peidras Blancas lighthouse elephant seal colony , and Harmony village pottery and winery (dont blink or you'll miss it - Harmony population 18).......highway 46 to Paso Robles is also a great drive over the mountain with spectacular views.

Room Tip: Check room location when you call for a reservation - Hwy 101 runs at the back of the hotel , so there could be road-noise if you get a room backing onto the Highway.....the road at the front of the hotel could be busy (and noisy?) in high season.....however the ocean-front rooms have an unobtstructed sunset view, but only 2 rooms with a balcony I beleive?
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at literally hundreds of hotels and guest houses all over the world over the past 20 years and can honestly say the FogCatcher Inn is number ONE in terms of the combination of quality, charm, location and value for money. The delicious full breakfast which even included fresh fruit and waffles, was an unexpected bonus. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer! We will certainly be recommending this beautiful establishment to anyone visiting California.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having driven down the Pacific Coast Highway, and found that we had missed the last tour of Hurst’s castle, we needed somewhere close and nice to stay, and this was it. The castle is only 10 – 20 minutes’ drive north and we went back the next morning.

Located on the waterfront on a quiet road, it’s nice and quiet. It is however, a little way from the main town, but it’s only a few minutes’ drive.

The rooms are largish, and ours was heated by gas fire. It looked and felt great, until it kept waking us up as it turned on and off during the night.

Our room was located away from our car, so there was some lugging of luggage. However, that can be an advantage as it can be quieter.

The nice people at reception will give you all the recommendations of the local restaurants. Accept their recommendations – you won’t be disappointed.

Breakfast is included, and there is plenty of it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews