We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family spot on beach with 2.5 miles of boardwalk”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at The Fogcatcher with our 4 year old daughter in January for two nights. Clean, comfortable accommodations with the soothing sound of the ocean to lull us to sleep at night. Fantastic bkfast included in the price -- hot food and ton of selection, plus a nice dining room to sit in and enjoy your food. You just need to cross a not busy street to get to the boardwalk and enjoy great views of the ocean. There is a more accessible beach for picking up moonstones and a great playground just a couple miles away from the Fogcatcher. Front staff could not be more accommodating!! And great *somewhat* heated pool that we got to enjoy but it was January -- in the summer months, that pool is a great bonus. The only thing i would have liked was an outdoor patio/balcony area to enjoy looking at the ocean after our daughter was sleeping. But I'd stay again in a heartbeat -- great break from driving between Carmel and LA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach_Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,351 - 1,357 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in the middle leg of our trip down Route One, and Cambria was far better than we had expected. A beautiful little town ('village'), which has more than its fair share of superb places to eat and wildlife to watch.

The Fogcatcher Inn is in a great location next to the beach, perfect for watching the sunset and about a ten minute walk from the start of Cambria's Main Street. (Incidentally, the Main Street is longer than you'd think, split into 'East' and 'West', it takes a good twenty minutes to walk from one end to the other.) We discovered that the Inn is also right next to rocks where Seals come to spend their days lounging about - we spent a couple of hours just watching them, with no one else about.

The only downsides for us were that the bed was quite uncomfortable (at least it was for me!), and if you went for breakfast at the wrong time (about 9am) if could be difficult to get a seat, although this may have been because the weather wasn't great so people weren't using the outside tables.

This were minor points though - it was a very good place to stay, with a superb location.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great inn, close to Hurst Castle. Very nice, large room with a gas fireplace as the primary heat source. The staff was very welcoming. We arrived a few minutes before sunset and we were offered a bottle of wine and glasses and a suggestion to sit on their bench and watch the sun go down. The wine was available at the desk; it cost only $12 and was excellent.
We had several great suggestions for dinner and chose the Sea Chest - only a few steps away.
The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was roomy with a great shower.
The complementary breakfast provided lots of choices, including plenty of fruit.
A very nice, couple of mile long beach boardwalk is at your doorstep. Be sure to take the time to enjoy it.
Definitely the kind of place one regrets to leave after only one night.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are not necessary for a one night stay, take a walk instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had stayed in another motel on Moonstone in the past, but chose this hotel because we were vacationing with our little dog. They have rooms along the side of the hotel where dogs are allowed. There is an extra $30 per night fee and they can not be left in the room alone except when you go to breakfast or the pool. There is a large dog bed and dog dish in the room. We were very happy with or accommodations. The room was very clean. No odors were noticed. The hotel has a great location to the beach. We took daily walks, with our dog, along the 2 mile boardwalk and on the beach. You can access these by just crossing the road. The sunset view over the ocean is nice. Seals rest on the rocks and can be viewed from the boardwalk. We love the quiet retro feel of the area. The motel includes breakfast, which is decent. They have eggs, potatoes, yogurt, sausage, toast, bagels, oatmeal, and make yourself waffles. Coffee and tea are available all day. They use the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf brand, which as a serious coffee drinker, I really appreciated the good quality of it. My husband and I, and the dog, enjoyed our stay at this motel and plan to return the next time we visit Cambria.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwitter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A lovely refurbished hotel, our room had recently been refurbed it had two 37 inch tv's in the room
one in the bedroom and one in the lounge.
It was clean modern and overlooked the ocean.
The staff were very helpful especially "Penelope" who pointed out all the local Bars and Restaurants, who served seafood, steaks etc.
A lovey breakfast(free) and plenty of it!
A free carpark too.
Coffee was plentiful in the reception to help yourself.
An ideal stop off point.
The Hotel had an outdoor swimming pool which was heated to 84f and a hot tub too.

Room Tip: One on the front over looking the ocean would be a good choice. The rooms look like little log cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great staff, great setting and fantastic breakfast to die for. Stayed here for a night on the way from LA to San Francisco. Rooms comfortable, great views of the ocean. Wished I could stay longer and will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From the moment we stepped foot into the office to check in to the moment we checked out, we were treated like superstars :) The front staff were really nice and helpful with information about the area and restaurants to try. The fireplace kept our room really nice and cozy. The hotel is across the ocean with a narrow street separating it, so it took just a couple steps to get on the beach pathway and take a romantic stroll. Cute little benches situated in front of the property to sit and gaze into the ocean.

Room Tip: Fireplaces in suites are in the living room area, not in the bed room. So, if you prefer to have a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josiek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $163 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing