We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and serene”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable and serene”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Fogcatcher's Inn for one night on our way back to Los Angeles, CA. What a nice experience after a 5 day road trip us the central coast of California.

First, hotel staff made the check-in process quick and easy. Within 5 mintues, we were checked into our room. Once there, we were pleased with the size and decor of the room. It looked more like a guest cottage at someone's home rather than a hotel room.

We booked a king-size garden view room. It had a fireplace, microwave and small refrigerator.

The room was very large and the dressing area was separate from the room, which gave the feel of a room in a home rather than a hotel room.

We were able to park our car right in front of our room, and were within steps to the breakfast room where a complimentary full breakfast was served, which was included in the price.

The breakfast was one of the best that we had during our road trip. There were hot and cold items. Hot items included eggs and sausage, waffles, and a hot breakfast cereal. Cold items included 3 types of cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and pastries and other breakfast breads. Everything was fresh and delicious.

The fogcatcher Inn is located right across the street from Moonstone Beach. We walked right across to the boardwalk where seals and sea lions were frolicking in the bay.

Well worth the price of the room for a great location and a quiet, restful night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    556
    145
    58
    22
See reviews for
611
902
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staff was extremely friendly & professional. Room offered a great view of the sea. Windows open to let the ocean breeze & sound of crashing waves in. Fire place for warmth & romance...
No complaints, definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great. Crack the windows to hear the crashing surf. Light the fire place to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

nice hotel across street from ocean. staff was excellent and room large with fireplace ( needed as it was 62 in june) great bkfst

Room Tip: get one near front as hwy 101 is behind motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent staff and the rooms are great. Super comfortable bed with these cloud-like comforters. Super rates and right on Moonstone Beach. And when i say "on", I mean you could throw a rock and hit the Pacific Ocean.

Wonderful all around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric VanGlider E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadephia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Loved staying on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. It was wonderful.
The Fogcatcher in was ideal too. Front desk staff was great, very helpful. Gave us good suggestions on which wineries to visit along with free tasting cards.
Room was nice but a little small for 3 adult women, but was comfortable. The fireplace was a nice feature.
Breakfast was great, lots of options both hot and cold. Best breakfast spread I've seen.
Pool and hot tub were enjoyable... Just the right temp.
I'm telling all my friends to visit this little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidletsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We absolutely love this little hotel. The most idyllic beach front location. Beautiful peaceful evenings. With the fog rolling in. A good surf break out front. Gorgeous wrapped, cedar shake roofs. Well maintained grounds and bougainvillea surrounded pool. A boiling hot and properly jetted hot tub where I've meet many a follow traveller. We always take a room with a view of the ocean and it's been nothing but loveliness every time. But what in the F*@# is going on with the breakfast! I understand it is free, but please. Don't serve anything at all and I'd be more than happy to stay here. Charge a few bucks more. Or Just do a simple coffee and muffin service, anything other than the mess of processed, SYSCO by-products they're steaming up. The coffee is wretched. The eggs aren't actually from a shell, I'm certain. And I think I saw a pile of severed and poached lumberjack's fingers trying to pose as sausages! The waffles are tolerable. The pastries aren't. The juices aren't even real. We've stayed many a night and well stay again, no doubt, but I feel compelled to say something about this because, if they stepped it up with a good breakfast option, I might be inclined to say this is the best place to stay in a hundred miles up or down that stretch of coast. At least until you get to Big Sur, or LA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soleswornthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We loved this place!!!! The staff was VERY helpful and friendly... Room was very clean and comfortable. They have a full breakfast that you don't want to miss..The hotel is in an excellent location with great views of the gorgeous pacific ocean!!! We will be back and I would highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Cambria
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing