We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice little hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2004

We enjoyed our stay here - beautiful room with fireplace and very friendly staff. Breakfast was a bit motel -like, but everything else was fine....

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    159
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
116
601
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 2, 2004

Our family enjoyed our little 'get a way' from the hectic Bay Area at the Blue Dolphin. The prices were very reasonalbe for a family, yet we were treated like we were at a resort. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, and the sunsets over the ocean... outstanding. The beaches are wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2004

Our room at The Blue Dolphin Inn was small and cramped (it had 2 double beds and a small table w/ 2 wing chairs). The included Continental breakfast wasn't very good, the muffins and danishes were stale and the eating room is cramped. If you happen to be there during morning "rush" hour, it is hard to maneuver around the people in line and there are only a couple of tables and chairs for eating. The room/bathroom was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. At $159/night, I would not return to this Inn.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2004

Great place. Like others who have commented, Moonstone Beach is an ideal location. You can't go wrong as far as location. Literally right across from the ocean. Blue Dolphin had excellent service accomadations and location. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2004

We booked a room in the Blue Dolphin Inn out of sheer desperation: all hotels in San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, and Pismo Beach were fully booked. This is possibly one of the best things that could have happened to my vacation because 1) Cambria is an incredibly beautiful town with Moonstone Beach being the most romantic and scenic setting you can imagine and 2) the Blue Dolphin Inn was absolutely perfect. The thing that struck me the most was the Blue Dolphin Inn's attention to detail, everything from impeccable cleanliness, to interior decor, to the little extra touches that can just make a visitor's day, such as free movie rentals, feedback journals in each room, afternoon tea, continental breakfast, free water bottles, and coupons that offer substantial discounts at some local eateries. The rooms are divine--charming Victorian designs, spacious bathrooms, and very comfortable and homelike. Also the staff are incredibly cheerful, courteous, and helpful. Just very nice people. And did I mention the spectacular location across from the beach? I highly recommend the Blue Dolphin Inn A+++.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2004
Thank you for taking the time to write some feed back about the Blue Dolphin Inn. I work very hard to ensure that each guest enjoys their trip to Cambria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2004

The Blue Dolphin was an ok stay in Cambria. We probably wouldn't go back again. Our room was not ready at check in - the cleaning people were still cleaning our room, but the front desk didn't know this, so we were checked in and ended up standing in the hallway with our luggage while they finished cleaning our room. The room itself was very pretty with the wallpaper and canopy bed - the bathrooms were not updated. We went down to afternoon tea which was store bought cookies and coffee - nothing spectacular. The view from our room of the ocean was nice, but I would assume the other hotels on the street have the same view. The breakfast was not ready on time in the morning and my husband was told to come back in 15 minutes. The front desk person recommended a place for dinner and gave us incorrect directions. Not a great stay - will probably try other hotels on the street if we ever stay in Cambria again. Try the Harmony Pasta Factory if you are in town though - it was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2004
Thank you for taking the time to convey your feed back. I am constantly looking for ways to improve the Blue Dolphin Inn to insure that our guest receive the best service and value during their trip to Cambria. Thus, I will promptly address the issues that you brought forth. I would very much like the opportunity to meet your expectation, and hope that you will return to the Blue Dolphin Inn, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2003

Have stayed at Blue Dolphin several times in the past few years; I wouldn't stay anyplace else in Cambria.

Helpful?
3 Thank nattiegantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing