We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent the last two nights of 2013 at the Blue Dolphin and really liked the location; it's across the street from the ocean and a wonderful boardwalk that provides a great way to walk along the shore for over a mile. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful in making dinner reservations or answering our questions about the area. We had never been to Cambria and found it to be very charming and pretty as well as close to popular sights like the Hearst Castle, sea elephants viewing area, etc. Our corner room was 109 with a bit of an ocean view and nice amenities like a comfy bed, large bathroom with a jetted tub, coffee maker, fireplace etc. It was very comfortable except that there is an outside door adjacent to that room that other guests use; it actually wasn't too noisy when we were there, but I can see that it could be. Because 109 is on the lower floor, there's a question about privacy as the windows allow anyone passing by to easily look in. The boxed breakfasts are adequate but nothing to rave about, and, all in all, we think the hotel is a bit overpriced. That said, we did have a good time and would consider coming back if we had the choice of a different room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a nice time while staying in Cambria. It is important to us to hear guest feedback so that we can continue to improve upon our service and product. Please come back soon!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    160
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
117
605
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Even though we didn't have a room with a view, the room was great. Nice and clean. Every morning they delivered a bag with breakfast, we took ours to the front patio and have a feast, the nicest view with the best breakfast!! Since we arrived back home, we have been reccomending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at BDI. We take great pride in providing a superior customer experience. Please come back soon!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in the seascape cottage of moonstone cottages: studio-like rooms a few doors down from the Blue Dolphin Inn. It was a quaint little place, with a comfy bed, fireplace heater, and a large bathroom. Very cosy. We looked right out on the water, and even though it's colder this time of year, it was nice to open the blinds and see the ocean! Three downsides: 1) since the cottage looks out on the street and is at ground level, we kept our blinds closed for privacy, which means we lost our view of the water; 2) wifi in the front apartment is terrible, but it seems to be better further back by the other cottages; and 3) breakfast is extremely overrated. I would have rathered get up and go to a breakfast room the deal with wrong orders, missing orders, and limp toast. They were very nice about replacing the items, however. Just an unnecessary hassle on holiday. All in all a sweet little place if you're looking for privacy and a beach view!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harlemharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us in our “Seascape” Cottage. The cottages are unique in themselves and because they are free standing involve a little more TLC. We are currently working on a solution for the WIFI. I have taken the necessary steps with our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that the quality of the breakfast items are presented and served properly. This should not have happened during your stay. I appreciate your comments!
Happy New Year!
I hope that you return soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Dolphin never disappoints. We spent 5 days here over Christmas with our 2 Labs. Our pet friendly room was lovely, the picnic breakfasts very good (loved the yogurt parfait), and the staff gracious. The cute Holiday ornament hung on our door Christmas morning was a nice surprise. Moonstone Beach is a gorgeous walk, and Cambria is full of little shops & terrific restaurants. We're hoping for our third visit soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaCostaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
WOW, thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad that we never disappoint, we strive to provide a superior customer experience. I hope that you display your ornament at Christmas this year and think of us.

Happy New Year
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

My family and I celebrated my mom's birthday here, and we loved every minute. The front desk staff was amazing, the room was lovely and large, and the location could not be beat. The ocean is literally in front of you, and it's gorgeous. It's a nice touch to send breakfast to your room to take out picnic style and to have robes and slippers for every member of your party. They also set up cake and cookies for my mom's special birthday. The lobby was also beautifully decorated and smelled so good!

One suggestion: more chairs for sitting outside. My husband and dad had to sit on a concrete wall since there weren't enough chairs to go around.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank faithc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I am glad to hear that your mom’s birthday went well. Moonstone Beach is such a beautiful area and makes any occasion delightful. We are so fortunate and appreciative of our location. I appreciate your comments regarding the chairs, great idea! I will be sure to inform the owners and I am sure they will look into this for the future.
Happy New Year!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Blue Dolphin Inn when on holiday in California in October 2013.

We had such a wonderful time and could not recommend it enough!

The location is fantastic - right on the beach, which is perfect for walks and views.

You can order a "picnic" breakfast which is delivered to your room, and allows you to take your breakfast out to eat on the beach, listening to the surf and watching surfers.

Our room was large, with a huge comfortable bed and big fluffy dressing gowns - it was also clean and cosy.

On arrival the reception team welcomed me using my new married name and had organised for a cake to welcome us in our room. It was a very nice touch which made us feel very special.

Couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: If you are celebrating a special occasion please let reception know as they will make you feel very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott_caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to hear that the “little things” provided can make a special occasion memorable.

We hope to see you return soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Though we have been to Cambria a few times before, this was our first experience with the Blue Dolphin Inn. We will make Blue Dolphin Inn our go-to place for the area from now on. The rooms were sized well. The view (even the partial-view room we had) was great. The hotel was quiet. The beach boardwalk is just across the road. The sitting areas in front to watch the sun set was nice. And the detail to even the smallest of amenities was appreciated. We had fresh baked cookies in our room each day. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the breakfasts they provide. Having a Keurig coffee machine in each room really won me over since I was able to bring my own favorites from home as well as enjoying the ones they provided. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, as we did make a few requests of them which they followed up on immediately.

Only two improvements that I can think of: (1) Better air circulation in the hallways. They were a bit warm and stuffy feeling. (2) Better shower heads. They are big and round and don't provide sufficient concentrated flow of water. It was difficult trying to rinse shampoo out of long hair with only a mild rain shower. I ended up sticking my head under the bath-tub water flow to rinse out my hair.

Overall this Inn made our Thanksgiving trip with another couple very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cr8ed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Angela,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Blue Dolphin Inn during the Thanksgiving weekend. My staff appreciates that our guest acknowledges our little attention to details. It is important to us that we provide each and every guest with a superior customer experience. I have also informed our maintenance engineer to inspect the shower head. I am sure that it is something that he can remedy quickly.
I hope you return again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing