We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th anniversary wine tour”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Lorenzo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“20th anniversary wine tour”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We took a 4 day tour of the Paso Robles - Cambria - Big Sur areas for our 20 anniversary. My husband booked one of the named rooms at the Blue Dolphin Inn for a romantic evening and were we ever impressed - beautiful huge four-poster bed, fireplace and an ocean view. Spectacular view, watching the sun set, listening to the crashing waves all night, a magical setting. The attention to detail at this Inn was impressive - we will certainly be back and for longer than just one night.

Room Tip: definitely worth the little extra for a named room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your 20th anniversary. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. Moonstone Beach is such a great location for special occasions. It is so nice to be across the street from the boardwalk and within in walking distance to the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill and Sea Chest. I will let my staff know that you were happy with the service and attention to detail.
I am glad that we met your expectations and we hope that you return again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    157
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
110
584
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Blue Dolphin Inn is one of my two favorite places to stay in Cambria - the other being its sister hotel the Sand Pebbles Inn. You can't go wrong staying in either hotel, but if you are looking for a romantic or quiet weekend retreat, I would recommend the Blue Dolphin Inn. It's location, right across from the ocean, couldn't be more perfect. There's nothing better than going to sleep listening to the waves. The rooms are spacious and the beds heavenly! There are several good places to eat close by. The climate in Cambria is much more "Mediterranean" than nearby Paso Robles or SLO County, although the proximity to the wineries in both locations makes this an ideal place to stay. I highly recommend an upgrade to a room with an ocean view if available.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a full ocean view. You'll be glad that you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your special weekend. Cambria is such a cute little town and not heavily populated. We like to think of our hotels as providing the “home away from home” feeling. I am glad that we met your expectations at one of our Moonstone Properties.
Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After a long working weekend and six hours on the road, the Blue Dolphin was a warm welcome. Even better was our ocean view room. With the sounds of the surf, cool ocean air an excellent sleep on a luxuriously king bed in a divinely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the sound of the surf while taking in the beautiful ocean view.
Please come and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

W
After spending the whole day in San Simeon, touring the Hearst Castle, we were greeted warmly at the Blue Dolphin Inn. The room was spectacular, the bath tub was huge and the amenities were so thoughtful. We took our time getting ready for dinner, walked down to the Sea Chest and back, then fell asleep to the waves crashing! In the morning we sipped our coffee out on the front patio in our robes, then took our hot-delivered breakfast out to the beach and picnicked. I mentioned, when booking the room, that it was my love's birthday celebration. They actually made a cake and had it waiting in the room when we arrived! We actually saved the cake until the very last minute and enjoyed it on the patio, watching the ocean waves! I can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on such a Special Occasion. It sounds like you had a relaxing stay while enjoying the local surroundings. We are so fortunate to be right across the street from the boardwalk as well as the sea lion “station”, and walking distance to The Sea Chest and Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Blue Dolphin Inn and each has been perfect. From the greeters at check in to the wonderful room and comfy bed. We've come in August and November and we have to say the weather in Nov. is the best. Blue skies and calm ocean. Breakfast is delivered to your room and is always tasty. My only issue is the too soft pillows that don't support side sleepers or people with bad necks but I will just bring my own pillow from now on because we won't stop coming to Blue Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us four times (WOW)! I am glad that you are happy with the accommodations and our guest service staff. We constantly strive to provide a superior customer experience each and every time. I will let the owners know about your dissatisfaction with the pillows. We can consider other options prior to your next visit, so that you will not have to bring pillow in tow. Please mention this at the time of your reservation or give me a call personally.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of a road trip and found it a great spot to just relax and recharge our batteries. We had one of the rooms with a patio looking out over the sea and I'd highly recommend paying the extra to stay in one of these. The rooms are lovely and romantic with a large Jacuzzi bath. We didn't need to use the fire but I'm sure had we needed to, it would have added to the lovely feel of the room. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts that are made on site and then delivered to your room at a time that suits you, were really tasty. I couldn't eat everything first thing and the way things were presented meant we could save things for a mid morning snack.
Lots of sea life and on an early morning run we saw dolphins feeding close into the shore - magic.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deefer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations. It is our top priority to provide our guest with a clean and comfortable accommodation.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely room (209) with great sea views. Spacious, comfortable and clean, not keen on breakfast in a box and for the money felt overall it was a little bit overpriced. Nowhere to sit out in the grounds but apart from that a good inn with friendly staff and great location, right on the beach with a lovely boardwalk. Saw dolphins, lots of birds, seals and great sunsets - very peaceful and relaxing. Cambria town nearby and very nice to visit, good shops and we were there for the October Scarecrow festival which was amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to breakfast. We are always considering new ideas to enhance the guest experience. I will forward this information on to the owners. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Scare Crow Festival, it is such a wonderful time to be in Cambria. December can also be an enjoyable time to visit the area, “Holiday in the Pines”. On December 6th, the local merchants host “Holiday in the Pines Open House”. Stroll the streets, enjoy treats and festivities at the Village Open House.
We hope that you return again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing