We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, quiet”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had never been to Cambria so this was my first trip. This hotel sits right on the beach along with several other similar properties. I booked a ocean view room. We did indeed have a view from one side window. Well, that was the only downer. The room was wonderful. Breakfast was just the right amount and of good quality, staff are great Would definitely stay again but specify a ocean FACING room.

Room Tip: If you have your heart set on seeing the ocean and you should, specify a room facing the ocean with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenebird54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 892 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here to visit the Hearst Castle and were very pleasantly surprised by our lovely accomodations and the warmth and professionalism of the staff. From the ocean view to the comfort of the bed and furnishings to the delicious breakfast service, our experience was just perfect! We would definitely recommend the Blue Dolphin Inn and plan to return whenever we're in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarefreeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because I wanted to be closed to Hearst Castle and take a rest before the trip from Big Sur to SF. I read here that this hotel was excellent and went there. It was the best hotel of the trip. They gave us the room "Sea of Japan". We were in 4 women and we felt extremely protected... The staff were kind, could see the smallest detail... And the view... One of the best views we had... Go there if you want to feel comfortable and want to see seals, sunset... Good trip!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margacris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello margacris,

We are very happy to hear of your wonderful experience with your stay at Blue Dolphin Inn. We appreciate hearing from seasoned travelers about how we compare and it is always nice to come out on top. The road trip along the California coast is an experience you want to remember and we are pleased to have contributed to your happy memories.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

Mark Eads, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The accomodations at the Blue Dolphin were excellent - good sized room, great bed and linens, excellent bathroom, considerate blanket to use on the terrace. i would go again. the fruit and cheese plate (extra charge) was ample and the fruit excellent.

The breakfast box was inadquate in every way - no milk for the coffee (which i expressly asked for), the quality of the food was mediocre and the portion small, and the presentation a zero.

While the service was friendly and pleasant, I was very disappointed that when i forgot some clothes in the room at check out, they merely chucked them in a lost items bin and did not call me on my cell phone. we spent the rest of the day in town, and i could have easily returned to pick them up. as it was, i did not notice that i had left things behind until the next week, when i wanted them for another trip - i had to call the inn, pay to have them shipped to me, and i did not have them when i needed them. what is so hard about picking up the phone to say, you left something behind in your room? that is real service, much more meaningful than the friendly California smile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear H T,

Thank you for your recent visit to Cambria and for choosing to stay at the Blue Dolphin Inn. Thank you too, for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, the room amenities and your fruit and cheese plate.

H T, it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests. I am sorry that we feel short of this goal in the areas that you noted. I have no excuses to offer, but I sincerely appreciate your bringing this to our attention. We always strive for perfection, and thanks to guests like you, we gain valuable insight in areas we may need to adjust and/or refocus our efforts on.

I do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Blue Dolphin Inn the next time your travels bring you to Cambria.

Sincerely,
Mark Eads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

There is not one thing I can say wrong about this place. The service was OUTSTANDING!! The breakfast was so good. So very clean and nice and relaxing. We stayed 4 nights and can't wait to go back. This trip was for our 15 year anniversary trip and what a place to celebrate! They had a beautiful white cake for us as we arrived. They have two white robes and slippers for you in your room. We are about 5 hours away but this is so worth driving up for the weekend. Thank you Blue Dolphin Inn for the wonderful memories. We will be back soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms, you can still hear the ocean from our room in the back suite 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello Melissa C,

We are so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you had a chance to celebrate your anniversary at Blue Dolphin Inn. We always like to do something a little extra for those special occasions. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here. And one benefit to the 5 hour drive is it gives you time to relax as you cruise along the coast. The journey is almost as magnificent as the destination. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Mark Eads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn for 3 nights and found the accommodation, service and box breakfast faultless. I can recommend the Blue Dolphin Innto anyone travelling up the Californian coast to visit Hearst Castle. Cambria is the closest township to the Castle, and a superb little spot with great ocean views, and a cute town centre.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and ask for a front room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkEads, General Manager at Blue Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello Pittjohn,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your experience at Blue Dolphin Inn. We enjoy hearing about your trip and especially that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff strives to make every experience a memorable one and it is always nice to know that we succeeded.

Mark Eads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

So many hotels here and we chose by TripAdvisor and it was right on with this one . King bed, super comfy, electric fire place is sweet enough and the ocean is across the street. Ours is not a water view but you can hear the surf. Breakfast comes in a bag with a knock at the door at your chosen time - is just handed over so no intrusion- so the not gourmet breakfast seems pretty gourmet!
Cookies, little chocolates, Keurig, tea, robes,... It has aplenty.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mms1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $169 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing