We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on our travels down highway 1. We didn't have an ocean view room but our room still had a view of the ocean (just!), we could still hear the waves through the night which was lovely. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. The staff are also really helpful, we needed recommendation for our evening meal, we were told which restaurants were good and then shown the huge book which had a copy of every restaurant menu in town...very handy! Once we'd made our decision they made a reservation for us. Breakfast was cute, we made our choice the night before, there were various options and delivery times to choose from, it was delivered to our room in individual boxes, it was nice to have breakfast in bed listening to the ocean. The beach is a stones throw away and the sunset is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    156
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
104
569
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The location so the blue dolphin is what attracted me, overlooking moonstone beach. From the outside it looks fine, nothing special. But inside it is indeed special. The rooms are generous and luxurious, from the fireplace to the dressing gowns. Breakfast is served as a picnic to the rooms but you choose the night before what you want to eat.
As we were merely passing through we couldn't justify one of the rooms on the front, but we were so pleased to have had one of the other rooms with a view of the ocean. It would have been such a waste to have been in one of the rooms with no view. I was also pleased that we were on the second floor, those rooms on the found floor at the front have a patio but less of a view. And going to sleep with the window open to the sound of the ocean, perfect.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank candirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Blue Dolphin and it continues to be consistently a wonderful memory. It's ideal location across from the ocean make it perfect to not only sit and watch, but also walk the ocean expanse on Moonstone Beach....so beautiful and relaxing. The rooms themselves have a wonderfully relaxing decor. Ours had steel blue and camel walls, with seafood green bedspread accent. All wood is a dark cherrywood and has glass tops to protect it and keep everything spotless. The bathroom is very upscale with nickel fixtures, copper accent dishes by the sink, very large thick towels, granite counter and even a lighted makeup mirror. The shower head is a "rain" shower head with good pressure. The bed is extremely comfortable as are the pillows. Even the in-room coffee maker is a Keurig machine instead of a 4 cup drip coffee maker. The entire room is kept spotless. Everything is a step above other hotels. We had a partial view room which still had a good view of the ocean. There are a few things to consider though. There is no air conditioning but there is a very beautiful cherrywood fan that worked great in our south facing room. There also is no desk, so if you came to Cambria to work on your computer, you need to have a laptop. :)). All in all this hotel has done everything right. There are a multitude of reasons it continues to be the number one hotel in Cambria. It's PERFECT!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KidsRGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a great find. The property is right on Moonstone Beach in Cambria, CA - great for tidepool exploring and walking along the boardwalk that runs the length of the beach. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff is friendly and accomodating - just ask for recommendations on local eateries and attractions. The Sea Chest is just a short walk away for excellent seafood. You get you choice for a daily "picnic" style breakfast to eat in the room, on the patio, or some other nearby scenic spot. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Room was great, Sea of Japan, second floor, ocean front. Breakfast delivered to room, everything first class. Quiet, left the windows open. Listened to the sounds of the ocean all night. ideal location in Cambria.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaufort1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent 2 days in Cambria at this lovely Inn. Management was accomodating when we extended our stay. We had a first floor room The Agean Sea with wonderful patio and ocean views. We sat outside and watched the sunset. The room was so comfortable with soft pillows, down bedding, fireplace and floor fan (pure genius). Bath luxurious and spa tub. Breakfast deliver was yummy...we loved the fresh breakfast pastry and scones. We enjoyed the nearby wine region of Paso Robles. The front desk was helpful with restaurant selections and discount coupons. We will be back!

Room Tip: First floor is worth it for the patio and view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallaswinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a wonderful hidden gem on the ocean. Our room had large window overlooking ocean. The waves lulled us to sleep at night. Loved breakfast delivered to room in the morning to be able to sit and enjoy with ocean view. Small and quaint and very well staffed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing