We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not underestimate... It's amazing!”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited the blue dolphin inn as part of our honeymoon road trip of California. Admittedly, I went into our stop in Cambria with minimal expectations, and the BDI would just be an overnight stay in order to break up the driving... How wrong I could of been!
The hotel is beautifully located with merely a (quiet) road separating you from the ocean. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, and made to feel right at home. Being led to our room and shown around (by christina, if i recall) was one of those minor touches that you don't get with the huge chain hotels, making the experience instantly feel more personal and friendly.
Our room (saldanah room) was cosy, beautifully decorated, and the view was amazing. The sound of the waves outside adds to the tranquility of the hotel.
It was a wonderful surprise to discover a freshly baked cake waiting in our room to help us celebrate our honeymoon.
There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance, or the town is only a five minute drive away with further restaurants, bars, and shops.
If you're planning a trip down the coast, it's certainly worth a stay.
Beautiful location, amazing hotel, friendly staff, all at a reasonable price... What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Definitely worth requesting saldanah room. Beautiful room, really comfy bed, amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 890 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

While traveling on a road trip with my 15 year old daughter (minimal fighting!) we where looking for a place to stay in this beautiful part of the coast. Trip advisor rated it #1.. and with good reason. From the warm greeting of the desk staff...to the welcome warmth, cleanliness, and modern updating of the accommodations...this place was perfect. It's right on the beach, and sunsets are included in the price of the room.. They provide a boxed breakfast so you can sit on the beach if you should so desire. This place is a find!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful...there are über romantic rooms facing the ocean...just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areallyniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This gem of an inn was quite a surprise. The outside is average looking - the inside fantastic!
The room we had was bright, spacious and beautifully decorated. The hallways were serene and the staff very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are beautiful. Room 214 was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiriamSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a deluxe, partial view and were literally across the street from the sea. We could hear the waves, which I find soothing. The room was spacious and just loved having the Keurig coffee maker and fresh cookies in the room.

The front desk staff was friendly and I changed our dinner reservations based on her recommendation. We went to the Sea Chest, in walking distance and was one of the best fish places I have been to. So glad we took her recommendation.

The town was cute but preferred the walks along the water. They have a well designed walkway, but walking along the beach is equally as enjoyable.

Breakfast is brought to the room and there are several choices. It's not an over abundence, but we were satisfied with it. They need mugs for the coffee and they let me know they are on order.

The rooms across from ours with the full view are quite spectacular. They book quickly, so I would love to plan ahead and stay in one of those with my husband.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ViaggiatoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Cambria is an ideal place for an overnight stop if travelling between Los Angeles and San Francisco. A small community located on the coast offering a number of small inns and motels of which the Blue Dolphin Inn is one. The Blue Dolphin stands out in their attention to detail. The inn is very clean and well-kept, no small feat for property located next to the ocean. Staff was very friendly and helpful, as one would expect in an inn. We were escorted to our room where all the conveniences of the inn were explained, including an electric fireplace providing heat and atmosphere in the room. A Keurig coffee maker in the room is a step up from the typical weak drip coffee machines typically found. No expected amenities were missing, the room was tastefully decorated, bathroom modern, and the bed comfortable. A breakfast menu is offered where the perception of the meal is far better than the reality. Choose your breakfast and it's delivered to your room in the morning packed like a picnic. A unique presentation to be sure, but the food itself left much to be desired.

The highlight of the Blue Dolphin, along with all the other establishments along Moonstone Beach Drive, is the proximity to the ocean with the accompanying breathtaking views. A one mile boardwalk along the bluff paralleling the coast provides for a perfect walk or run anytime of the day – in the evening spectacular sunsets over the ocean – in the early morning an invigorating run or walk with fantastic vistas and brisk, clean air. At night the Blue Dolphin is close enough to provide the perfect harmony of the ocean to sleep by, just crack the window and turn on the fireplace.

If planning to enjoy dinner in Cambria, there are only two restaurants within walking distance. Both are very crowded because of the close proximity to all the motels and inns on the oceanfront. There are several other choices in Cambria; however, the downside to dining in Cambria is you have to drive. Walking, while relatively close, is not recommended as you must cross Highway 1 and it's very dark with no streetlights or sidewalks. We had an excellent meal at Robin's Restaurant, great service and food in a unique atmosphere reflective of the California coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank REV028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The view is the main attraction here with a very nice boardwalk along the seaside which is perfect for families, older guests. The sunset is spectacular.
The women at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a fireplace which we needed to use during the night for heat. Bathroom was small but well-stocked with nice toiletries.
We had "picnic" breakfast delivered to our door in the morning, which was nice (but not spectacular).
Clean clean clean!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view! Bring a bottle of wine to enjoy with sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolbrady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The room was clean and nicely appointed, and the staff were all very nice and helpful. The hotel itself though, was a bit of a shrug. There was nothing specifically "wrong" with the hotel, but there wasn't anything particularly great about it either. The one complaint I had was that our room was literally 5 paces from the front desk, which meant we could hear everything anyone in the lobby said, and felt like they could hear everything we could say.

The location of the hotel was great though. A short walk across the street, and you were face to face with the pacific ocean on Moon Stone Beach. There is also a small downtown area about a mile away for restaurants and shops and stuff.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LBpsu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: $185 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing