We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly hotel, not sure that the great beds compensate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Camarillo
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“smelly hotel, not sure that the great beds compensate”
Reviewed January 1, 2007

I've stayed here twice. First time was ok -- nice enough basic room with great bed (love the marriott bed). Still, the room smelled like someone had recently smoked in it and the housekeeper had dropped a bleach or something in it to cover up the smell. We left the window open and slept ok, but for $123 expected more care. Anyway, we then returned a few months later and the first room we were given reeked of solvents of some kind -- smelled likely newly glued carpeting -- even my partner who has no sensitivities was getting sick to his stomach, so we asked to switch rooms. A huge pain as we'd already unpacked. The staff were helpful, and we ended up in a room that merely smelled stall -- a big inprovement! Anyway, I'm going to be looking elsewhere for accomodation in the area since the cleanness of the air isn't something I can depend on at this Marriott. On noise, we could hear others in their rooms but it wasn't too intense. Freeway noise wasn't loud on the "away" sides of the building.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
33
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a business trip. It was a very upscale Courtyard. There was fresh fruit and tea/coffee available 24 hours a day. Brand new equipment in the exercise room. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. Hotel staff was wonderful. My hairdryer had no heat, but a new one was delivered within 3 minutes to my door. Nice sitting area in the lobby. Very clean and spacious rooms. My king room also had a sitting area with sofa and chair, along with a desk. I would definitely book here again if I'm in the Camarillo area.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank teash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

I stayed here during Labor Day weekend. I chose the location because it was between Santa Barbara and LA, without the Santa Barbara prices. The location was very convenient to Malibu also. Courtyard Camarillo is at the end of a new, clean, friendly strip mall with lots of trees--very nice. There's a Starbucks within easy walking distance, less than a quarter mile away. When we walked into the lobby my 12-year-old son sighed and asked, "Can we stay HERE for a WEEK?" The lobby is very nice with gardens all around, and free coffee and chilled lemon water all day and night. The desk was a pretty granite--I just got a really nice feeling from the lobby. Was it the lighting or something? The hotel receptionists were very friendly and professional. The rooms are your typical three-star rooms, plenty big, with a well-laid out bathroom (bath and toilet in one room, and sink/mirror area separate.) The corridors seemed a little dark and long, maybe because we were far from the elevator. The beds in the two-bed room are queens, which is so much better than doubles, especially when traveling with four. I didn't care for the dark green carpeting palette, since it seems a bit dated and maybe not as clean (but I'm probably being a little to critical.) But I appreciated the nicer down comforters (a nice upgrade from the typical flowery bedspreads at other hotels.) I did notice a roll-away bed in the hall one morning, and I could see that the hotel uses the good kind, which stand up on rollers rather than fold in half--these roll-aways are actually comfortable! The exercise room seemed nice, though I didn't use it. The hot tub was indoors, which I don't care for, but I don't typically use hot tubs. The pool was a nice size and outside, with tables and chairs for seating; swimming hours end at 11 instead of 10. The gate to the pool is noisy, so if 11pm is too late for you, don't choose a courtyard view room. I would absolutely visit this site again. I would advise the operators to consider a lighter palette when they remodel the rooms, but other than that, I was pleased with my choice in accommodations!

  • Liked — The beautiful lobby
  • Disliked — The green carpeting--so 90's
  • Tips/Secrets — Awesome breakfast--not free, but excellent buffet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtrippinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

Very beautiful hotel, good situation, staaf very friendly. I want there to return as soon as possible. very good breakfast has small price.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabi*from*belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Not much to say. Clean, well kept, friendly staff, thorough maid service, good location. I'll stay there again next time I'm in Camarillo.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommypain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2005

We stayed overnight while traveling - checked in somewhat late and discovered our no-smoking room reeked of smoke. We requested a different room and were given another room, this time overlooking the courtyard rather than the parking lot - and were completely satisfied. The room was very nicely decorated and quite comfortable. The desk clerk was very helpful in the morning giving us directions to the nearest Best Buy.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2005

How refreshing to find somewhere safe to stay, comfortable, spacious and clean! The rooms were very nicely appointed and the beds were the best of the entire trip! So comfortable that we inquired as to what kind they were, as we are in the market for a new bed!

The place is immaculate, very nice lobby, dining area, exercise room and lovely rooms!

Would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarillo
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Camarillo
Residence Inn Camarillo
#5 of 10 in Camarillo
169 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
687 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Camarillo

Property: Courtyard Camarillo
Address: 4994 Verdugo Way, Camarillo, CA 93012-8637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Camarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Camarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ventura County, California, and halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara you'll find the Courtyard Camarillo hotel. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our new Camarillo hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. At our hotel, you'll enjoy close proximity to historic Old Town, Camarillo Airport and the famous Camarillo Premium Outlets. Our hotel is also close to the Maravilla gardens, which are popular for weddings or special events. Guest rooms feature luxury bedding, a large desk, ergonomic chair, free Wi-Fi, and a pullout sofa. Find room to roam at our Courtyard Camarillo, CA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Camarillo Marriott
Camarillo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing