We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch a game here while visiting Camarillo”
Review of Ric's Restaurant

Ric's Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 201 Restaurants in Camarillo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Catch a game here while visiting Camarillo”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Ric's is a good, comfortable place to watch a game. It is a 50/50 blend of sports bar and restaurant. Cheerful service, and no pressure at all to keep ordering or give up your table. I don't know if I would go here just for the dining experience, but the food was perfectly decent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude, Arrogant, and Mediocre Food”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Have been there two times in the last two months and have been amazed at the rude personnel who apparently feel they are doing their clientele a service by allowing them to dine there. Were asked by one server if we were going to include a gratuity as it was not included on the credit card receipt, not even taking the time to look at the cash on the table which was a 20% tip. The second occasion being tonight when we were approached by the hostess who not so subtley asked if we would leave, acting as if they needed the table when the restaurant was clearly full of EMPTY tables both in the dining room and on the patio. We had been there 90 minutes, 30 minutes of which we had patiently waited for our server to finally come to our table and take our order. Ric's seems to think they are the only "game" in town and apparently feel that they can treat their guests as if they are interlopers. Rest assured, we will not return!!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capricorn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
“Service and food is excellent”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have been going to Ric's for quite awhile, since JJ's got soooo bad. They started out as a supper club but after Safire and Aloha came to town they dicided to become a sports bar. It can get a little noisy but that is what sports bars are all about. We always eat in the dining room and the noise doesn't bother us much there. Never had a complaint about the food or the service.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank edthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill year after year to save money”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I'm a local, and this used to be our "go-to" restaurant when we wanted to take out friends, or have family dinner out. But over the years in this economy, they've become a Sports Bar (tons of big screens), pared down their offerings, and cheapened about all their dishes. I understand their desire to survive this economy, but it's no better than going to a cheap chain restaurant. We sent back dessert, and should have sent back one of our meals. We won't be going back. Sad, because this is a longtime local family of restaurantuers.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FootlooseFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I've been here numerous times for lunch and a few times for dinner. I love the beautiful presentation and fresh food. Salads are creative. The servers are experienced and polished.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wuvhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ric's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ric's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing