We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of The French Bulldog - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The French Bulldog
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lewis
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went for lunch and the decor was nice. The acoustics could be better. There weren't many people there, but it was still noisy. The service was slow. The meals average. Not impressed. Maybe it will improve over time. As of now - forgetable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vignettehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
“The "Bulldog" - Delicious food, fun atmosphere & friendly service.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Delicious, imaginative food by Chef Gael. Upscale, modern, and casual atmosphere. Friendly and professional service. Extensive cocktail, wine and beer menu. Fun bar with large screen TVs. Private room can accommodate up to 25 guests, for parties, celebrations or business. The business owner actively supports community groups. Reservations available online at the restaurant's website. Thursday evenings: The Chef's Table. A selection of dishes from all over the world perfectly pair with a selection of wines. Sunday brunch: From 10:30-3:30.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CALivingEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, decor and service.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived for happy hour and found some good deals on food and $4 caprese salad with heirloom tomatoes and glasses of wine. Later we sat in the dining room and had beef burgundy, spinach salad with bacon and goat cheese, and the mac and cheese. The mac was so-so, but the rest was just great. The staff were very nice, but a little slow and the decor was sharp and comfortable. Nice place in old Camarillo, will come back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Camarillo”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Does 'the french bulldog' involve expensive fine french food served in small courses in a stale environment? NO. It is great, reasonably priced food served in good portions, all in a warm, upscale, environment. That's what makes it the best. And the location in oldtown allows you to walk to other interesting eateries and watering holes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! AMAZING”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Recently visited the french bulldog restuarant in camarillo, we live in agoura but were visting friends in camarillo. We did not know what to expect but can say we were pleasantly suprised. This is a chic hip, nice slighly casual yet somewhat upscale trendy vibe. The food is probably the best we have had in a long time! Service was really good we had a very professional waiter. The wine selection was decent, although we had the infused martinis, they were to die for! We had the special rack of lamb, halibut and new york steak, and eggplant parmesan. Also, the Filet Sliders were a hit with us all. And I could have had buckets of the parmesan truffle housmade potato chips. All in all a 5 star night. hands down the best food in camarillo- finally a great place to go!.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cvb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Bulldog also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing