We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is VERY good, though it seemed loud. (Im a crab)”
Review of El Rey Cantina

El Rey Cantina
Ranked #97 of 200 Restaurants in Camarillo
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Food is VERY good, though it seemed loud. (Im a crab)”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Seriously! I REALLY enjoyed the food here. I had the Taco Diablo. Oh baby! The BBQ beef was still tender and juicy. The "diablo" was spicy, but not ridiculous. Really just right if you ask me. I cant wait to try the enchiladas. The waitperson was just a sweetie pie, and got the food right out. The price for what I received was what I would consider a good value.
I WILL BE BACK!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“yummy margaritas”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The bar is a little rough around the edges, and the space is a little too small for live band music, but the food is good; steak burritos and the cobb salad with pumpkin seed dressing is fabulous with shrimp. The 3 times I was there, the service has some attitude, but was OK.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pixie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Not as good as the Ventura sister joint”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not as good as the original in Ventura. Great drinks. The food service is slow at best. And they were out of the Spanish Rice dish, which is what I went there for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travela17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
850 reviews
634 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“More of a bar than a restaurant”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Sort of a dive bar with some Mexican food. Good service. Entrees around $10, which is more expensive than it should be. Extensive tequila menu. Taco menu looks intriguing. I had the enchilada. Meh...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent food bad house wine”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Go there for the Tequilla and the taco platter. The service was below satisfactory, maybe it was because the server was new to the industry. Don't let the drinks go empty! Don't make me ask for a fork, you can observe and dd!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sirdouglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rey Cantina also viewed

 

Been to El Rey Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing