We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
Review of Olas Mex Grill

Olas Mex Grill
Ranked #65 of 200 Restaurants in Camarillo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This mexican restaurant is great. Located in the downtown area of Camarillo, CA which is right off the 101 freeway. You get tons of food, at a great price. There is usually a line to order at the counter in which does go quick and well worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wetfeet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surf's Up!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Olas is our old standby for quick Mexican food. Their portions are generous. They have a salsa bar and give free chips to those dining in. Drinks are free refills. The kitchen is fast and good at what they do. Decorating is definately surf - so don't expect any Mexican art or music - it's surf videos folks! All the people who work there are great and they bring your food to you when it's ready. Right on the 101 in old town Camarillo. Come for the last Friday of every month (April-September) cruise-in and stay for the food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Surfer's Hangout”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Best Mexican food ever! Whenever we go to Malibu, we take a ride into Camarillo off the PCH1 head to the outlet mall which is huge, then eat at Olas. The portions are huge and the food is so fresh. I love the chile verde tostado( like a taco salad) but my husband just goes for the tacos. The burritos are primo and the have a salsa bar to die for. Will be headed there in March! Can't wait.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I go regularly. Great Mexican food. And very affordable. Really casual. Surf stuff everywhere. Real straight-back, Mexican style, chairs. The boy loves the carne asada wet burrito. They are huge and tasty. I love the individual tacos, particularly the carnitas tacos. Great selection of beverages too, including Mexican beers. They have lots of TVs on which they have surf or skate boarding videos and live sporting events. If you want to eat part of your order immediately and take some to go, they will wait and make the to-go part later. Heck, I think I will go back today.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
533 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Surfer style mexican food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The chile verde burrito is huge. I especially enjoy the surf videos that play during the meal. There is nothing fancy about the place> Just good burritos, tacos, and homemade salsas.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olas Mex Grill also viewed

 

Been to Olas Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing