We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good down home food in a unique location”
Review of Waypoint Cafe

Waypoint Cafe
Ranked #2 of 203 Restaurants in Camarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good down home food in a unique location”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This cafe has generous portions, good food and an interesting location, at the Camarillo airport. This is a very busy place during breakfast and lunch, so plan on waiting for a table. They also have an outdoor patio, with views of the small aircraft and runway.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideTravelerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    81
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Burgers, TriTip”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Who knew the small Camarillo airport would have such a place. Locals come here, it can be very busy with a wait of 20-40 minutes for a table. The plastic outdoor patio tables are nicer than indoor seating. Staff is efficient. The waffles are good, the egg breakfast is good, the burgers are very good and the TriTip Sandwich when available is a good option. Very good potato salad, better than the fries. Cole slaw is nothing special. Pastrami is NOT as good as "deli" pastrami. I ordered the TriTip Club that a friend raved about - I was not impressed at all as it had very little beef, bacon was not cooked enough and it had way too much mayo over the avocado. In future, I will order the waffles, the TriTip Sandwich, or the French Dip. But if I crave a burger - the blue burger is also on my "go to" list here. Hot teas are served with great carafes to keep the water hot, very nice tea selection. You can get a mimosa, beer. My spouse ordered a milk shake and he seemed to enjoy it, he even ate the chocolate off the glass! Lots of pilots hanging here, but many locals come here too. Watch the planes coming and going, in sleepy Camarillo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Go for the sights a the small airport, enjoy the large portions of yummy diner food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This is just your typical diner meal during lunch time. The sandwiches are loaded with meat and lots of fries to accompany. The reason to go isn't the food, though it is good, the views of planes landing is why to go. On a clear sunny day this place is awesome to eat a meal and enjoy the sights. Recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregTrav28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“At the Camarillo airport”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Tried the Waypoint several years ago on the recommendation of an out of town guest. Sometimes you just don't know the gems you have in your own town. The food is great, the service is fast and friendly. My husband and I go there at least twice a month now, sometimes more often. Wednesday is BBQ tri-tip day: either a sandwich or a salad. Friday is fish taco day...yum! This is a very popular restaurant and we try to time our visits to avoid peak lunch time. The wait for a table can be very long. Sitting inside or out on the patio you can watch the small planes and helos take off and land. If you find yourself in Camarillo, give it a try. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamarilloCAHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast place. Great food. Great service. Sit inside or out. Go before the church crowd gets out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waypoint Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Waypoint Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing