We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lure Fish House

Lure Fish House
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Camarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant Hours: Happy Hour Sunday All day until 6:00 PM Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00 PM. Private Dining Room and Patio seating available! Lure Fish House was created with the goal of providing you with a Top Tier Seafood Experience featuring fresh and sustainable seafood from trusted sources. Our restaurant strives to provide locally caught seafood, organically grown local produce, and wines from local vineyards whenever possible. We also feature a full bar with specialty cocktails, and an oyster bar serving a variety of fresh items that can vary daily. Lure specializes in Mesquite charbroiled seafood while also providing uniquely prepared selections by our chef. We print our menus daily to reflect availability and guarantee freshness. Our primary goal is to provide you, our guest, a fun and exciting seafood experience. So just remember, "if you are looking for a healthy and delicious dish...Eat more fish!"
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We always sit at the oyster bar. We can watch the preparers and chat with the oyster chefs. The food is outstanding. I hate to tell you how good the sand dabs are because there will be no more for me!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    137
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great food, perhaps the best fish in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Been there several times now with very consistent fresh fish. Always busy, good help, good service. If you are bringing someone older with you with hearing issues, be aware that there is a great deal of ambient noise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New favorite fish house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is my second trip. My first trip was so great I had to come back. Amazing seafood for all our party with the swordfish cooked to perfection. The reasonable price and outstanding quality at Lure Fish House is a rare double.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My partner and I decided to stop into this restaurant on whim and this after scouring tips on Yelp and Trip Advisor. Fish seems to be a tricky subject with regard to restaurants... here is why: most times it smells fishy - is overcooked - is wet from being frozen too long - too much salt - too little salt- no flavor - too much flavor - undercooked... the list goes on. Living in Santa Barbara we have tried them all - no luck garnishing a lasting warm and fuzzy feeling. We have simply given up on anything fish! Hence, our trepidation about trying this place which professes to know this species of food.
We walk in and are immediately greeted by a super friendly host. We proceed onward toward the bar area which seems to be buzzing with life, laughter along with oozing a sense of hospitality. We sit down and are offered drinks. They arrive and are delectable; Manhattan made to standard, and a frosty well cooled beer. We are informed of happy hour specials including a run-down of some of the bar tenders favorite meals. We tried the happy hour fish taco’s… heavenly! Lots of tender flaky non-fishy grilled to perfection bites of nirvana (forgot the variety) adorned with tons of cabbage, other greens (?) good flavor (not too salty – THANK YOU!) and tons of sauce. We ordered another! Then it was onto oyster shooters – terrifically fresh with that unmistakable care given to the quality. No fishy smell here. Then onto rock fish entrée – ok, by now I am in heaven as this fish was grilled to perfection. Portion enough for two – tender but well cooked – veggies were divine, as well as the rice complimented the dish very well. Not too salty – plenty of subtle flavor.
By now, I am trying to find fault. There was none. So, in closing, this place shall be upon my “go to” list. Here is hoping they are consistent and shall provide that high standard not often prevalent within chain establishments. Cheers to the Lure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Friendly service, fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After reading the reviews on Lure we were eager to give it a try. We went for lunch on a Saturday. We were seated immediately, and our server Ben was very attentive and friendly. Our party of 4 had the spinach dip appetizer, 2 fish and shrimp combos, a grilled ono, and a chicken sandwich for the person allergic to fish. Everything was very good and cooked perfectly. The kitchen had no problem with a special order to make the spinach dip without lobster. Ben kept our drinks filled and picked up dirty plates immediately.
The only sour note of the lunch was dessert. We ordered a flourless chocolate cake, which came with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. The cake itself was really dry, not the fudgy texture you expect from a flourless cake. We asked for more caramel sauce and we did eat most of it, thanks to the ice cream.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lure Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing