We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAF Museum and Hangars”

WWII Aviation Museum
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Camarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxnard
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“CAF Museum and Hangars”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good selection of planes and memorabilia from WWII. They have operational airplanes not just static show pieces. On the weekend you might catch the CAF guys taxi out and take off and fly the pattern and come back and land in one or two planes. Worth every penny and very affordable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ibizmentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Camarillo”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Small, but great museum with loads of WWII and WWI aircraft and artifacts. For my husband's 60th, we bought him an hour flight on a WWII plane and he LOVED it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZZZSleepSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“...complete waste of time”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

...entered...given the third degree by some verbose guy, who told me that because many of the aircraft were not there, I was getting 'a great bargain' with a reduced entry fee from $7 to $5...and that he would give me a private tour. Realizing that this guy loved hearing his own voice...I opted to wander alone...he told me that if I went out to the flight line, he would have to be with me,,,inside looked like a sad Army Surplus store...looked out to the 'flight line' which looked empty....so after 5 minutes I walked out with Mr. "I Love To Hear Myself Talk" still yapping at me! BUMMER!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A gem! Aircraft history up-close and personal”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Veterans and other knowledgeable enthusiasts are available for in-depth conversations. Aircraft are up-close and constantly under restoration, tuning, etc. Several of them fly daily and you stand on the tarmac watching them in pre-flight check. A few hundred dollars will get you airborne. Mustang, Spitfire, B-25, ....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gotta love a museum with working exhibits”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I love a museum that tries to keep its fleet in flying condition. This museum is not as big or diversified as some others but always worth a stop.

Helpful?
Thank Sawdust1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWII Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to WWII Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing