We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rude”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had traveled a long day and were hoping to find someplace in Calistoga to stay. The front desk staff not only told us they were booked for a Thursday night but the whole town was pretty much full and that we should go on down the road to Napa. We fortunatly found a room on our very next try across the street at the Hot Springs Resort for half the price of the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Alan788,

I would like to apologize for the level of service you received from our reception. As you can see from our reviews, this is not the normal level of customer service we provide to our guests. When we do sell out, we rely on the Chamber of Commerce for the local area hotel availabilty. I'm pleased to see that you were in fact able to find adequate lodging in Calistoga. As we are a newly remodeled hotel, our rates are comparitive with similar properties such as ours. I hope you are able to stay with us on your next visit to Calistoga. I would like to personally assist you with your future reservation needs. Please feel free to contact me at (707) 942-1112.

Warmest Regards,

James Farquhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    244
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
130
364
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well earned Plus rating could easily be a Premier. Stayed several times and the staff has never failed to be friendly and very helpful. Always clean and well maintained grounds, nice courtyard and pool area. Rooms are large and well appointed. Very comfortable beds. You may find rates a little pricey but well worth the $$$$.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with wonderful and friendly staff who went out of their way to answer all my questions and ensure our comfort. The rooms are extremely large with nice furnishings and amenities. Although we didn't need to use the fireplace, it looked modern and inviting. The location is perfect---just down the road from the center of town. We did stay in a "mountainview" room; however, the gas station that was seen from the large windows took a little bit away from the view. The value was fair, given the costs of nearby resorts and B&Bs. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIKOOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for a wine tasting trip. The room was nice and clean. Staff was freindly. The breakfast was ample. Good location for walking (3- 4 blocks) to downtown Calistoga. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderOff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved this hotel. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. The nice hot breakfast really impressed us. We would definately stay here again. It's also in a good central location and near many interesting attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear 60922Familyof4,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so pleased that you had a comfortable stay while you were lodging with us. We receive a lot of compliments on our plush pillow top mattresses and hypo-allergenic pillows from our hotel guests. We recently enhanced our complimentary full breakfast to include real buttermilk pancakes and silver dollar sized pancakes for the kids. We're only a 5 to 10 minute walk into downtown Calistoga for shopping, dining and wine tasting. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,

James Farquhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to end our stay in Caifornia with relaxing trips to wineries in the Napa and Sonoma valleys. We were a little concerned that it only appeared to have two stars but booked it after reading the tripadvisor reviews. Our fears were groundless, this is a better hotel, the rooms were large, clean and well appointed. The shower was the best we had during our stay in America.

The breakfast is complimentary and more than adequate but we did think the dining room was very limited for space. Luckily the weather was fantastic so we sat in the courtyard to eat. There is no other restaurant or bar in the hotel (probably the reason for the lack of stars - who knows) but Calistoga is full of both and there is a good choice. I personally think it it just too far to walk into town but it was only a couple of minutes to drive - it may be I am getting older!

The staff were very helpful and there are facilites in reception to confirm flights and print off boarding passes.

The hotel is a 'deck access' type, i.e. you don't go through a reception to access the rooms, they are accessed directly from the outside. I know this sometimes causes security concerns but the area is very quiet and we didn't feel any threat whatsoever. The rooms however were not equipped with a safe and I think this would be beneficial. We didn't enquire with reception about any safe facility they had because we seem to want constant access and it seemed a faff to keep going and asking to get stuff two or three times a day.

I have just reviewed my review and anyone would think I didn't like the place. It's a great hotel that I would pick to stay at again and have no qualms recommending to friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyland-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I choose the BW PLUS STEVENSON MANOR to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We expected something nice but we had much more than our expectations. BW Stevenson Manor is a little jewel in Calistoga. Small and very well appointed. Our room was spacious, bright, with a fridge, a microwave and a washbasin. Furniture was extremely new and all bath products were from spa line. When we entered our rooms we found a great surprise for our anniversary: a bottle of red wine from Napa Valley with chocolates, fresh red roses and greetings balloons! It was amazing! No other hotel during out tour in central California did us such a beautiful surprise!!Also the pool an hot bathtube are very intimate. It’s really a perfect hotel. Maybe the only thing they could improve a little is breakfast. The hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBLONDIE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor

Property: Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
Address: 1830 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western PLUS Stevenson Manor offers guest-focused, Calistoga lodging. Discover wine country relaxation in our 34 Calistoga guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor Hotel Calistoga
Best Western Calistoga
Stevenson Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing