We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed at Stevenson Manor for 2 nights in December, and had rooms on the upper deck facing the field.

The location is fantastic, which is really close to town with supermarket and fantastic restaurants. We only took about 3 mins to drive to town (didn't want to walk in the cold) :)

Room was clean and huge with flat screen TV. The bathroom was also big with lots of vanity-top space for our toiletries and amenities. However I wish the bathroom has a heating system as my family had to resort to turning on the hot tap and let it run to heat up the room before taking our showers.

Staff was very friendly, and provided good advice regarding which vineyard to visit for us with kids in tow.

Breakfast selection, however, was really limited - with sourdough bread (not my favourite), cold hardboiled eggs, juices and coffee/teas. There was no hot food provided except for the waffles. Laundry service can be better as there's only one washer and dryer. Our 3 families had to take turns to do the washing either in the early morning or when we return.

It's a pity we didn't see any hot air balloon taking off during our stay there. There is also a heated pool for us to use but we didn't use it.

Overall it's quite a pleasant stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    234
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
123
348
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, Ca
Level Contributor
277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had to be in Calistoga in winter for business. We stayed here and were happy with the hotel. Clean, nice staff, free wi-fi, lots of parking. $129 with a larger than usual breakfast included.
Enjoyed seeing the hot air balloons lifting off from the vacant field next to us at dawn!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving (Nov 2011). We were very impressed with the size and standards of this hotel considering its ‘budget’ status. The hotel is on the main Calistoga high street but 5-10 min walk from the main stretch of restaurants, bars and shops. You can walk into the centre of things in less than 10 min, although there is a small part of the walk that doesn’t have a sidewalk/pavement. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, clean & well equipped. The rooms had a TV, small kitchenette with coffee machine (but no stove, so not suitable for cooking, but you’d eat in town as you’re so close), the bathroom was a moderate size but we were very impressed by the thoughtful touches like lovely soaps/shower gels, hair dryer, and make up remover wipes. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet style just off reception in a smallish space, but that too was great as it had lots of variety; as well as the standard, toast, cereal, fruit, there were bagels, a waffle maker and pastries. The hotel also has an outdoor pool although we didn’t make use of it because it was November. There is a car park attached to the hotel. If we went again we would visit some of the famous Calistoga spas, but as it was Thanksgiving none were open. This is a great base from which to explore the Napa Valley. You’re also a 30 min drive from St. Helena which is a lovely pretty little town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

This motel was perfect for our needs. Great location, very clean and good pool. It was a 5 minute walk into Calistoga - grocery store and lots of restaurants. The room was quiet - we slept very well. Helped no doubt by 18 holes of golf and a swim each day! Service was fast and efficient both arriving and leaving. We stayed for three nights at the end of September 2011. We usually stay at the Napa end but have been staying at best westerns lately and been pleased with them so we decided to give the other end of the valley a try. The Silverado Trail - just as fast as the main highway but way less traffic - runs about a quarter mile behind the motel so the location was perfect for us. All golf courses were within a 45 minute drive and what a beautiful drive it is - through acres of vineyards and wineries. We will go back to this motel and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janetm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
430 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stevenson Manor is a typical best western motel, not really a "manor". The rooms are in good shape, nicely furnished, but not anything elaborate or high-end. The pricing is good and the place provides quick access to Calistoga.

Room Tip: For a more quiet room, ask for one away from the main drag which is next to the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This motel is a few minutes' walk from the "main drag" in Calistoga, and though not a "luxury spa" like so many other places advertise, it is clean, offers plenty of parking, free hot breakfast, and very friendly staff. When we arrived early, they took our bags, while we went for a bike ride. The front desk staff, very friendly, offered to call us when the room was ready and to take our bags directly in. Both of these were done. The room was well-appointed, clean and had everything we needed (that higher-end places offer, like shampoo, hair dryer etc.). We got the AAA rate of $149 (I think) for a 2-queen room, which was about $100 cheaper than the other places we looked at. I would stay here again in a heart-beat and would recommend to anyone who wants a nice, clean no-frills place to stay. Save your money on the room, and spend it on a spa treatment, and at Jole' restaurant or any of the other delicious places to eat.

Room Tip: Our room was on the main floor, right next to the office, and we find that quiet ..... so I'm un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakland_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here on our Honeymoon and I was very impressed. The staff was very kind & helpful. Our room was upgraded to a king size room with a fireplace. The building looks new & and our room was spacious & immaculately clean. I appreciated the bag the tv remote was in showing it had been sanitized. It was nice that they had a wine bottle opener & glasses in the room. The courtyard area is beautiful. I was pleasantly surprised that they had a steam room, sauna, hot tub & heated pool. Continental breakfast was delicious and had a great variety of choices. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Address: 1830 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now through August the hotel's central courtyard is closed for renovations. We are expanding the breakfast room and lobby, plus adding an elevator. It will be noisy and messy Monday - Friday from 9 AM-5 PM. Best Western PLUS Stevenson Manor offers guest-focused, Calistoga lodging. Discover wine country relaxation in our 34 Calistoga guestrooms outfitted with boutique-style hotel services, features, and amenities. Select from a variety of Calistoga vacation packages to experience one of the best Calistoga, California getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor Hotel Calistoga
Best Western Calistoga
Stevenson Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing